Bacina | In this little Croatian town only live 700 people.
Baèina is a village in southern Dalmatia, 7 km west of Ploce. Bacina Lakes are a frequent tourist destination. They abound in freshwater fish but there are also grey mullets, which made the Lakes their natural habitat after the tunnel drilling. The area is a true promised land for nature-lovers and anglers.
Badija | Badija the biggest and the most beautiful island in the Korcula archipelago lies East of the town of Korcula, twenty minutes away by boat. It has a surface of about one square kilometre and is covered by dense marquis and pine, cypresses and olive trees. Flint knives were found in the Lokve locality, proving that life existed in the caves of Badija in prehistoric times. A stone monument shows that Romans were on the island.
Badija was first mentioned in writing in a 14th century testament by the priest Vlaho Ivanovic from Korcula, who lived here as an ascetic monk. The present Franciscan monastery and the church date from the 14th century. This island was both an oasis of peace as a paradise on earth and an unprotected source of booty for the numerous pirate ships which for centuries plundered valuables from the church and the monastery and killed its inhabitants.
The evangelists bear on their shoulders a big ball on which is Jesus Christ. The figures of Saint Francis and Saint Catherine are on the pedestals on the side. This 18th century work is the copy of the work of A. Tirali from Venice, made by Giuglielmo Montin of Bassano as its main sculptor.
A legend says that the old arms from Badija, kept today in the Korcula Cathedral, belonged to the king of Aragon and Naples, and that they were taken from him by the Korculans in a fierce battle. The notorious Uluz Ali set the monastery on fire during his unsuccessful siege of Korcula in 1571, thus adding one more crime to the series of plunders and fires suffered by Badija over the centuries.
Today Badija is a developed sports and recreation centre. It is also a popular excursion point for the people of Korcula and its surroundings. The development of tourism in Korcula inevitably turns towards this natural pearl which will enable even the most discriminating tourist to enjoy himself in this exceptional scenery and stimulating atmosphere.
A few minutes boat drive from Badija takes tourists to Vrnik, best known for its impressive quarries which date from Roman times, as can be seen from the remains of old quarries in the form of underground vaults and "grottos". These passages were made when dynamite was unknown and stone was taken out through underground shafts. Gigantic rocks, some even 40 meters high, bear witness to the laborious and glorious age of stone cutting on this islet of an area of only 0.3 km2. The Duke's Palace in Dubrovnik and many other buildings in foreign parts, among them Aja Sofija in Istanbul, were built from the white stone of Vrnik. The twenty or so tall stone houses on the islet of Vrnik have been built in harmony with this island of white stone; they keep out the winds and offer a very comfortable feeling in spring and summer.
Baska Voda |Crystal-clear and warm sea, well preserved natural environment and magnificent geographical position, in the heart of Dalmatia on the Adriatic coast, make Baka Voda ideal tourist destination. Confirmation of this statement could be found in traces of life dated more than three thousand years ago. In 1840 well known medical expert from Venice A. A Frari wrote that Baka Voda was the place where everything exudes life and vigour so much as to make a dying man rise on his feet again." First evidence of settlement on this area dates from early Bronze Age (1700 - 1500 BC). During that period walled settlements with wooden lodgings plastered with mud were formed on the site of nearby Bast and on the hillock Gradina in Baka Voda. The inhabitants of that period were of Indo-European origin and later on this area was taken over by Illyrians and akin tribes. When those regions were a part of Roman Empire (II and III century BC) the settlement was formed traces of which were found on hillock Gradina. Its centre was probably formed on the place of today's Baka Voda. With present-day Bast and Baka Voda, the majority of historians (W. Tomaschek, K. Patsch, P. Skok, F. Buliæ) associate ancient town called Biston which used to be situated between well known towns of Narona and Salona. The name has mythical origin. Biston was a grat great father of Thracian tribe of Bistonians, the son of God Mars and Goddess Kallirhoe (Beautifully Flowing). Symbols of God Mars (defensive fortification) and Goddess Kallihroe (water springs, and lake with clear, fresh water that used to spread in the centre of today's Baka Voda) can be found in a small area. Many tombstones from ancient times were found but only a few were preserved while most of them were destroyed during construction works. Some tombstones have Illyrian names engraved, so it can be concluded that newly-arrived Romans and old Illyrians were living together. At the end of 4th century Roman Empire was intensively under attacks of barbarian tribes. They were constant danger for the population that lived on this territory. Therefore towns improve and reinforce their defensive fortifications and smaller settlements take higher positions which were more suitable for defence. So, during 5th and 6th century stone walls in Gradina were intensively built.
Passing through Braè Channel was controlled from the fort. Many pieces of ceramics originally from North Africa show orientation to the sea. Life at Gradina stopped when Croats came in 7th century. After 7th century throughout the following thousand years there are no traces of urban living by the sea. All the activities were moved at the foot of Mt. Biokovo. Fresh water springs were used for watering the cattle and it can be assumed that first buildings built during 17th century were shelters for Shepards. First public building was St. Lawrence's Chapel from 1750.
When the risk of pirates' attack ceased local population returned on the coast and built new Baka Voda. The population starts developing tradition in agriculture, fishing and sailing. Many buildings were built including St. Nicholaus Church in 1889.
After the harbour was constructed in 1912 Baka Voda became the most important harbour in this area through which intensive trade between islands and Biokovo area took place. In the 1930s first hotel was built. It was hotel Slavija owned by Sikavica family. In 1933 society which takes care of Baka Voda appearance was established. What once used to be a town of farmers, fishermen, merchants and seamen now is a modern settlement with all characteristics of small Mediterranean town. Intensive development started in 1968 when the "Magistrala" (motorway along the Adriatic coast) was built. Comfortable hotels were built, the camp was open and more and more private houses were engaged in tourism. Tourism here reached it's peak in 1980s. After the Serbian aggression and after the war ended Baka Voda improved its facilities, many private houses and hotel capacities were renewed and new ones are of higher rating. Besides improvements in accommodation, special attention is paid to environment, quality of the beaches and entire tourist infrastructure.
Biograd na moru | Once the crown city of Croatian kings today Biograd on sea is a well known tourist and nautical centre as well as the centre of the Riviera that goes by its name. Biograd na Moru (in the Middle Ages also known as Alba Civitas, Belgrad) was built on the ruins of the ancient Romanian settlement Blandona. It was first mentioned in the mid-10th century (Constantine Porphyrogenitus) as a Croatian town. In the 11th century it was the seat of Croatian kings. Around 1059 it was the seat of a diocese, in the same year the Benedictine monks' monastery of St. John was founded and in 1069 the nuns' monastery of St. Thomas. In 1102 Koloman was crowned the Croatian king here and in 1125 the town was destroyed by the Venetians. It also suffered much damage during the Venetian-Turkish wars, particularly in 1646.
The core of the ancient habitation was located on a small peninsula. Until the end of the 19th century, the town had walls with circular towers. The remains of the cathedral, a three-nave basilica, were destroyed, and the remains of the monastery church of St. John, also a three-nave basilica, have been explored and conserved. The church of St. Thomas has been preserved only in fragments. Outside the ancient settlement, the ruins of a smaller one-nave church with an apse have been found and close to it also early Croatian graves. The parish church of St. Anastasia, built in 1761, features Baroque altars, one of which is of gold-plated wood. Outside the ancient settlement are also the small churches of St. Roch (Rocco) and St. Anthony (1850). The broader area features also prehistoric sites and the remains of an antique aqueduct. The Town Museum houses an archaeological collection with prehistoric, antique and early Croatian finds, as well as a collection of ships' cargo from the end of the 16th century.
Biograd na Moru (white town at the sea), a town and port in northern Dalmatia, 28km south of Zadar; population 5.500 It lies both on a small peninsula and the mainland. On its northern side is the cove of Boana and on the southern Soline. In front of the town are the islands of Planac and Sveta Katarina (St. Catherine) (with a lighthouse). An average air temperature in January is 7 °C and in July 24.5 °C, with annual rainfall reaching 840 mm. The Soline Cove houses a large public, sand beach and a pine forest. Biograd is a local trading and traffic centre, with good connections with its hinterland, surrounding coastal villages and small towns and the island of Paman. Economy is based on farming, fishing and tourism. Biograd is a ferry pier for the island of Paman. It is located on the main road Zadar - Split (M2, E65).
Biograd is the centre of the Riviera consisting of Petar na Moru (Peter on the Sea), Turanj, Sv. Filip i Jakov (Sts. Philip and James), Biograd, Pakotane and Drage, as well as of several places on the island of Paman: Tkon, Kraj, Paman, Barotul, Mrljane, Nevidjane, Dobropoljana, Banj and drelac, and Vrgada on the island of the same name. Thanks to its position in the most indented part of the Croatian Adriatic coast, the area provides excellent opportunities for nautical tourism and boating as one of few parts of the Mediterranean. In the close vicinity are three national parks: Paklenica, Kornati Archipelago and Krka, as well as Telaèica Nature Park and lake Vransko Nature Park.
Apart from cultural and historical heritage, Biograd is also characterized by nice beaches, picturesque bays and various accommodation facilities. The town has a number of restaurants offering specialities of local and international cuisine.
The picturesque Paman Channel with a series of small islands protects Biograd and its Riviera from strong winds from the sea, which is an advantage for swimmers and boaters.
Biograd has one of the largest and best equipped tennis camps in this part of the Adriatic, comprising 14 lighted tennis courts with clay and 6 courts with hard surface. It is situated in a pine forest, along the beach. Biograd provides excellent opportunities for sailing and diving and also offers sailing and diving courses.
Biograd is a port frequented by boaters whose destination is the Kornati Archipelago. Regattas, sailing schools and other nautical activities are organized throughout the year. Biograd's marinas have 1000 berths in the sea and 200 places on the land. They are open throughout the year.
The city has grown into a size that is just right for living. It is possible to bathe in the clear sea and rest on the pebble beaches under the shade of century-old pine trees. This is only at a distance of only one hundred meters from the centre of the town. The canal offers scattered green islands to those who like isolated places. Its location in the middle of the Adriatic coast surrounded by 5 national parks and 2 Nature Parks, the vicinity of the Kornati Archipelago and Lake Vrana, its long-standing tourist tradition are only some of the reasons for choosing Biograd as a destination for an interesting and dynamic vacation.
Bol | The small but picturesque town of Bol is located at the most beautiful part of the Brac littoral.
At first, it was a village of fishermen and farmers, to become one of the pearls of the Croatian tourism. Its beauty, numerous beaches, hospitality and quality accommodation make Bol an excellent holiday choice.
Zlatni rat, according to many the most beautiful beach in the Mediterranean, gives Bol a very special touch.
Brac was inhabited in the prehistoric ages, probably in Mesolithic, and certainly in Neolithic, at the end of the third millennium before Christ. The inhabitants were pre-Indo-Europeans, with the main occupation was cattle breeding. In the second millennium, during the metal age, Indo-European Illyrian population, who were more cattle breeders than soil cultivators, inhabited the island. The Romans were not founding new settlements, instead they organised farm buildings.
By the end of the 8th or the beginning of the 9th century the Croats from the river Neretva came to this region. They pushed out the indigenous Illyrian population that was under roman influence. The island Brac was at the time conquered by the Francs. In the beginning of the 11th century the Venetians took over the possession of this region. By the middle of the century Braè was a part of the Croatian state reined by Petar Kreimir IV.
In the 12th century this region is formally under Byzantine reign, but it is controlled by Venetians. In 1107, during the reign of king Koloman, Braè was a part of the Croatian-Hungarian state. But in 1135, Venice conquers Braè, and later on it passed from Byzantine rule again to being a part of the Croatian-Hungarian state in 1180. The Croatian-Hungarian king Andrew II., donates Braè to the Frankopani, princes of Krk After that Braè was taken over by the pirates from Omi. The population of Braè asked the Venetians for protection, and it was granted to them. So, on April 1, 1278, this region went again under control of Venice, and it lasted till 1358. The same year island Braè became once again a part of the Croatian-Hungarian states. In the following years Brac changed rulers very often. So in 1390, it went under protection of the Bosnian king Tvrtko I., in 1394. it was ruled by the Croatian-Hungarian king Sigmund, in 1403 the island was ruled by Hrvoje Vukèiæ, and in 1413 it became a part of the Republic of Dubrovnik. Finally, in 1420, Braè is conquered by the Venetians that remained rulers till 1797, the year of the ruin of Venetian republic. The Venetians formally respected the existing communal system and they kept all the forms of the communal autonomy, but in reality they acted according to their laws and through their bureaucracy they were interfering severely with the internal matters of the commune. They abolished the common law decrees and introduced sharing legislature under control of the general administrator. The princes of Brac were all the impoverished Venetian noble men who came to the island to get rich. They were restricting the communal autonomy and acted arrogantly. With the ruin of Venice the people of Braè thought they were free from all the obligations, but the very same year Austria took possession of this region and ruled it by the year 1805. With The Peace treaty signed in Poun in 1805, this region came under control of the French, who introduced many economic reforms. They abolished nobility, and were founding schools. In December 1806 the Russians take over Brac, but by the middle of 1807 the French are back, but there was no peace. The British ships attacked the island twice, in 1811and in 1812. In June 1811, one British corvette attacked Bol, destroyed numerous boats in the port and took away with them large quantities of grain, oil and wine, to the island of Vis.
After the fall of Napoleon, Braè was again under Austrian government, on July 7, 1814. In 1823, there was a new territorial division of the island. Brac was divided in 7 districts; one of them was the district of Bol. There awaited a long and difficult fight for the use of Croatian language, and for the unification with Croatia. The populist party of Bol managed to gain control in the district of Bol in 1883. The second half of the 19th century was the time of the national awakening. In 1897, the Croatian reading-club was founded. From December 1, 1918 Bol became a part of the new state called Yugoslavia, which was not a fulfilment of the national dream. From 9-04- 1941 Bol was formally a part of the Independent State of Croatia (NDH), and actually it was under Italian rule. Bol was burned to the ground few days before the fall of Italy, 10- 09- 1943. After that Bol was under control of the Partisans, but on 13-01- 1944 it was again occupied, now by the Germans who remained on the island till 18- 09- 1944, when the Partisans and the British Army liberated the island. From that time Bol was integrated in Yugoslavia, till the creation of the independent Republic of Croatia (30- 05- 1991. ). The name Bol comes from the latin word vallum, which means "entrenchment", "land fortress wall", "fortified town". Latin word vallum has the same meaning like the old Croatian word coast (="entrenchment", "embankment"). The name is probably a mixture of the roman vallum and Slavic "obala".
Brac | see islands Brac
Brela | Brela settlement is situated about fifteen kilometres north-west from Makarska. Because of the thick pine forests, long and sand beaches, and fresh water spring, for decades Brela has had an important role in tourism of the seaside around Makarska.
The settlement consists of the older part (Gornja Brela) near the old road in the hill, and the newer part located on the coast (Donja Brela).
When we speak about the history of Brela we must go back into the past for more than two millenniums. In this wonderland monuments have been existing from time immemorial in collusion with the magic character of Brela. It is therefore not strange that the first patron of this Adriatic oasis - Berylliae of the Antiquity, is Silvan, the Illyrian-Roman god of woods and untouched nature. The ecology has found its name still in the ancient times in this homeland of Mediterranean secrets, but 1937 is considered to be the beginning of organized tourism.
Today, Brela is a modern tourist settlement of rich tradition and natural beauty. The Byzantine emperor Constantine VII Profirogent mentioned the place in his letters in the 10th century. Brela offers you a rich cultural heritage, there were found several necropolis of Illyrian origin, as well as graves from the Roman times. The most interesting historical monument is a relief (II or III century) representing Illyrian god Silvan which was built in the lintel of Srecko Filipovic´s stable in Brela-Soline (the sculpture is in a private collection of Zvonimir Filipovic in Brela-Soline). He has a blade in one hand symbolising a pastoral cult with agriculture. The cult of Silvan was specially adored by the Illyrian tribe Dalmati.
The settlement consists of the older part (Gornja Brela) near the old road in the hill, and the newer part located on the coast (Donja Brela).
In Brela woods and beaches are bathed in brilliant sunshine. The breeze brings the smell of the sea and the odour of aromatic herbs is felt in the air. Seagulls cries are mixed with singing of birds. In 1968 Brela was crowned as "Champion of Jadran" for high achievements in tourist activity. The place is situated by the sea shore, between Biokovo mountain and the island of Brac. Brela is unique in its beauty with marvellous beaches, pine woods, crystal blue sea, Mediterranean climate, sport grounds, marina, ecological surrounding and relaxing peace, top quality service in luxury hotels and private accommodation. All guarantees unforgettable holidays.
Brela clear sea, sun, for all to enjoy. Waves are rushing on golden beaches, millions of pine needles fall softly to the ground Natural heritage: Oak-tree at Soline, natural monument, a thousand years old with a huge crown; Biokovo mountain - natural park with several horticultural monuments (wild vegetation, geomorphologic and botanical locations), panoramic view - magnificent and gorgeous jewel.
And now you belong to the land you were dreaming about.The wind blows up the sails, windsurfs are gliding and skis are competing with the white wakes of the ship. The golden pebbles are mixed with the jewels of the bay.Branches of centennial pines hide the hotels like velvet curtains, covering the cliffs like big parasols...Colours, flowers and smells are making typical atmosphere of the Mediterranean.
There is a mountain above Brela that the stars touch at night. It is a place where winds tell stories, where pine needles and flowers knit the veil around houses and restaurants and joy is competing with relaxation in the tranquillity of the nature. Brela is a jewel in untouched nature. Brela is a luxury of vegetation, sun and sea. Everything creates a special feeling and relation to Brela.
Brela: CUltural monuments
Lady of Karmen Church, a valuable monument of baroque architecture with stylish explicitness, in harmony with the surrounding. It was built in 1715 in the appreciation of victory against Turks, and is called Lady of Victory church too.
St. Nicola´s Church (527 m) from pre-Turkish period, is a very valuable medieval monument. It has been a parish church with graveyards for centuries.
Lady of Health Church (18th century), with rustic form of Dalmatian baroque, characteristic for Dalmatian background. It is harmoniously fitted with the landscape.
St. Ilija Church (18th century), a simple feast church with characteristics of rural architecture.
Standing tomb-stone, in the south side of St. Stjepan church (14-15th century), with a special cultural significance.
The complex of the Filipovic houses, the first inhabitants at old Soline, significant as rural architecture unit with extraordinary monumental and environmental values.
Bekavci at Kricka buildings complex, with anthologies architectural characteristics and evironmental location. It is a valuable example of plebeian architecture.
St. Stjepan Church (1897), a modern church with high cultural values. St. Stjepan is the patron of Brela.
On Biokovo mountain, above Brela, are ruins known as Herceg tower (a defensive tower for fight against Turks).
Brodarica | Brodarica is a small village located along the Adriatic coastal road (Jadranska magistrala), with Sibenik and with the Morinje Bay on the south, as well as many nearby islands to the west. It is 6km away from the city center. There are approximately 3,000 residents in the village. The occupations of the local residents is tourism, fishing, sponge harvesting, farming and agriculture.
During the summer the number of residents rises to 5-6 thousand. The village faces many islands, which make up a lagoon, and also the Morinje Bay, which is where fish are spawned. The mixture of fresh and calm seawater in the bay allows all types of shells to grow. Both in the village and on nearby islands you can find small stony and sandy beaches. Brodarica, as well as the island of Krapanj have typical Mediterranean climate. During the summer the temperature is around 30 °C, while during the winter it hardly ever reaches zero. The most common winter winds are the warm and wet jugo from the south and the dry and cold bura from the north, while the "cool" maestral blows from the west, cooling down hot summer days. Naturally, because of this climate, the area has a magnificent Mediterranean vegetation, featuring pine forests and many shrubs and busses such as rosemary and lavender.
In the vicinity are the national parks Krka and Kornati, which are great tourist attractions. The most popular cultural-historic site is the St. Jacob (Sv. Jakov) Cathedral in Sibenik.
Cultural and historical heritage;
The cultural centre of this area is Krapanj. The island features traditional stone houses and a number of narrow streets. A secluded landmark on the island is the Holy Cross Monastery, whose church was originally built in 1523 and extended in 1937 giving its present look. Certain antiquities protected by the state are in safe keeping at the monastery.
The most valuable exhibit is the "Last Supper" (16th century) and the "Black Madonna on the Throne" (renaissance). Kept in the monastery's library are other valuables such as the Bible from 1474 as well as 23 incunabula. The monastery also consists of a smaller museum that contains a collection of sponges, corals, amphorae (clay jars) and other ancient pottery.
Every year on August 2nd,the traditional feast is held on the occasion of Our Lady of Angels (Gospa od Andjela). Towards the end of July a singing show is put on by the local children and at the beginning of August the Croatian High Jump Competition takes place out in the open, on Krapanj. During the summer, many other cultural and sport events take place in nearby Sibenik such as the International Children's Festival held in June and the Dalmatian Song Night held in August. Also, during mid august, the feast of the Assumption (Velika Gospa) is celebrated in Vrpolje.
Cavtat | Cavtat, a town and port in the southern part of the Zupa Bay, 20 km southeast of Dubrovnik; population 2000. Major tourist attractions include a very pleasant climate, luxuriant vegetation and nice shores. Economy is based on tourism, while chief occupations in the surroundings of Cavtat include farming and fishing. The port is enclosed by two peninsulas: the south-western Sustjepan separates it from the channel, which is enclosed by the Cavtat reefs of Bobara and Mrkan. East of the Rat peninsula is the Tiha bay. Nice beaches stretch all the way to Cape Prahljevac. Cavtat is located on the main road (M2, E65). It is very well connected with major Croatian cities through Dubrovnik and Cilipi Airport, while local communications with the surroundings include ship and bus lines.
Originally it was a Greek settlement called Epidauros. Around 228 BC it was under the Romans and later became a Roman colony. The name Cavtat originates from Civitas vetus, as the fugitives in the newly established Dubrovnik used to call their first habitation. Archaeological finds from those times include the remains of a Roman theatre , as well as tombs and the remains of a Roman road above the present town. The ancient town was destroyed at the beginning of the 7th century, during the invasions of the Agars and the Slavs.
Fort Sokol or Soko Grad is the biggest and for its location on the mountain pass towards Bosnian hinterland, exceptionally important fort from the period of Dubrovnik Republic.
It was built on the site of an Illyrian and roman fortification, the proofs for which are the roman details and roman bricks in its walls. With its form it is adjusted to the natural cliff on which it was build. From the fort and from the churchyard of Our Lady of Sokol one has a unique view of the whole Konavle.
In 1391 the brothers Sankoviæ, that time's rulers over Konavle, ceded to Dubrovnik Republic the whole region with fort Sokol.
The Republic definitely enters into its posses in 1423.Because of its strategic importance, the Republic was always investing in the fortress. It had a cistern, an ammunition dump, a storehouse for wine and food, the accommodation premises for the "castellan", a guard - house and a building for the soldiers. It also had a separate building for the accommodation of woman and children from the nearby villages for the case of war danger. Even today from top of the Fort one has the feeling of respect and admiration for the heritage that the ancient Republic of Dubrovnik has left to us.
EMBROIDERY FROM KONAVLE
The embroidery from Konavle, so - called "Poprsnica", is a basic decorative textile element of female national costume. It is made in technique of the counting of the threads of the basic fabric tissue. A strictly symmetric ornament contains the numberless decorative motives.
It is originally embroidered with home - made silk thread. The silk is dyed by natural colours with emphasised red, black or dark green ornaments separated with white passages and decorated with golden - yellow tassels. The names of different ornaments are symbolic and descriptive, and ornaments depend on tissue, fineness of the performance and the possibility of using. So this embroidery can be applied on table - clothes, curtains,
clothing etc .The embroideries from Konavle are famous for an accentuated colour, a delicate effect produced by silk thread, and a perfect workmanship that does
not permit errors. This embroidery preserves the rich cultural and artistic heritage of the region from which it originates.
PRIDVORJE AND FRANCISCAN MONASTERY
The village Pridvorje is situated in the central part of Konavle under the slopes of the mount Snjenica. This marvellous settlement covered by the mulberry - trees, plane - trees and poplar - trees, surrounded by a river and the water springs, became famous, together with the whole area of Konavle, through Dubrovnik writers in 15th, 16th and 17th century.
Following the history of this village we may follow the history of Konavle through two thousand years. In the 12th century the village vas called St. Martin. It got its actual name in the 15th century. In the middle of the village was built the headman's palace where resided
headmen and poets. Around the palace were built the houses, the trashing - floors and a church, so the whole complex got the name of Pridvorje (in front of the palace). In the lowlands in front of the church of the Holly Trinity the Franciscan monastery with the church of St. Blaise was built (1423 - 1429) in the style of the early Dubrovnik renaissance. The monastery was a pilgrimage place, so it collected a rich treasury of sacral art, where
special place belongs to the well-known late gothic wooden crucifixion from Pridvorje.
MAUSOLEUM OF RAÈIÆ FAMILY (Sculptor Ivan Metroviæ 1883 - 1962)
The mausoleum of the well-known ship-owners family Raèiæ from Cavtat was built on St. Rock's cemetery.Its construction took place in 1921, on the place of St. Rock's church from 15th century, following the will of the testatrix Marija Raèiæ.It was built from the white stone from Braè in the form of cupola. In the whole building no other material but stone was used, except bronze for the door, bell and angel. The whole mausoleum is full of symbolic representing three basic stages of human fate: birth, life and death. This is contained in the ornaments like the heads of angels on the vault; the symbols of four evangelists on the floor, the main alter and the lateral naves. On the bell founded by Metroviæ's design we find his beautiful reflection: "Comprehend the secret of love, you will solve the secret of death and believe that the life is eternal. "Mausoleum of Raèiæ Family is a unique beauty that seams to sail above the sunny sea and pine, cypress and palm lines, like a white swan of eternity.
SACRAL MONUMENTS The Illyrian necropolises - about 115 stone clusters mostly in Mikuliæi, Ploèice, below Èilipi, are irregularly placed, are mostly inaccessible and are hiding the inventory of ancient Illyrian chieftains.The Mithra's sanctuaries represent a god and a bull, the fight between good and evil, light and darkness. Two examples of Mithra's sanctuaries in relief are known: one in the cellar of Bogiiæ house in Cavtat and one in Moèiæi. Standing tomb - the stone necropolises are nowadays making part of churchyards in the villages, and in largest number may be found in Dunave near the church of St. Barbara, in Mihaniæi, Gabrila, Brotnice and Pridvorje.
The autochthonous and unique construction forms of residential architecture
are the chimneys. These are mortared pyramidal roofs above the big home hearth, built in a special way without wooden construction or any other securing. There are 18 registered monuments in the villages of Donja Banda, and only one chimney in Gornja Banda in the Franciscan monastery in Pridvorje.
LEGEND ON THE GENESIS OF THE NAME OF CAVTAT
Alongside with a possible derivation from "Civitus Vetus", the name of Cavtat is associated also with the gorgeous Cavtislava, daughter of the Epidaurian king Kordun and Queen Amrusa. As so many flocked to ask for her hand, the king decided to give it in marriage to the one who will be fasted in completing one of the four tasks: construct a peripheral fortification around the town, a big temple in the town, an aqueduct, or bring in a ship loaded with silk. The fastest was a rich local nobleman by the name of Vrsanin, who managed to be the first in
bringing water into town. At the inauguration ceremony of the water supply, the beautiful princess was to have the first taste of water, from a golden cup, yet, before first drops of water a big lizard came out right into her lap. Princess Cavtislava's heart broke out of shock, and she fell dead at the spot. Legend has it that the lizard was placed appositely into the tube by one of the jealous candidates. In the memory of the most gorgeous Cavtislava, after a powerful earthquake that erased city, a new settlement Cavtat came to life on the same location.
Another legend says that Cavtat derives from the Old-Croatian verb 'captiti' - 'to blossom', referring to the yellow juniper, that so widespread sparkling plant with a sunny aura.
NATIVE HOUSE OF VLAHO BUKOVAC
The native house of Vlaho Bukovac in Cavtat is since 1969 considered for a cultural monument. The monumental characteristics are its architecture, its garden and location in the centre of Cavtat, but above all the heritage of the great painter Vlaho Bukovac and his family.
The native house of Vlaho Bukovac is a stone residential building typical for Cavtat from the end of the 18th and from the beginning of the19th century. The inventory of the house is well preserved from the period when the house was built, with an emphasise on the internal wall paintings and the glass on the staircase door, both made by Vlaho Bukovac.
BALTAZAR BOGIIÆ COLLECTION - Rector's palace Cavtat
Baltazar Bogiiæ Collection was founded in 1909 - 1912, and from 1955 is a part of Croatian Academy of Science and Art. Baltazar Bogiiæ (Cavtat 1834 - Rijeka 1908) was a jurist and a scientist of a European fame. Since 1875 he lived in Paris. He was the full member of Croatian Academy of Science and Art since its foundation in 1867, a member of many other Academies and Scientific societies, and a holder of several European decorations. In the Collection are deposited more than 35 000 different items. Particularly interesting are the collection of old graphics (8185 sheets of Croatian and European provenance from 16th until 19th century) and one of three Croatia's most important numismatic collections (2700 pieces)
The library is one of the most valuable in Croatia, because of its rare and unique editions (15000 titles, 66 incunabula, and 164 manuscripts).Important scientific and cultural value has a rich archive and a large personal correspondence (10092 letters) of Baltazar Bogiiæ.
The Rector's Palace is the seat of Bogiiæ collection since 1958. Because of the bad conditions in the ground - floor rooms and the reconstruction works, it is possible to visit only one part of Bogiiæ's inheritance(paintings, graphics, photographs, furniture, pottery,
ethnographic items, books, manuscripts, documents etc.).
ST. NICOLA'S CHURCH PICTURE GALLERY
The picture gallery of St. Nicola's parish church in Cavtat was founded in 1952 by the merit of academy member Cvito Fiskoviæ. This valuable collection of paintings, sculptures and church liturgical pottery is situated in the room next to the Parish house, and from 2001 is again open to tourists and visitors of Cavtat. Among many valuable artistic works, of a special interest is the icon of St. Nicolas from 15th century, the alabaster relief of St. Sebastian
made by baroque artist from Benedetto Genarri's school from Bologna, the paintings painted by Sicilian painter Carmelo Reggio, and the works of great Croatian painter Vlaho Bukovac.
MIHO IA KONAVLJANIN
Miho ia Konavljanin was born in 1946 in the village of Mihaniæi where he still lives and works .For 40 years he is living the life of a farmer and an artist.
His painting is completely bound to the hard work of the farmers, but also to the wealth and beauty of its fruits, showing the harmony between the landscape and a substance of the social
and intimate life of Konavle. His work is trying, with his brush and chisel, to save the images of the common people's life from oblivion, and leave them to the generations to come.
In his gallery in Mihaniæi the visitors may see his work. Miho ia Konavljanin remains one of the most accurate chroniclers and custodians of the ethnologic wealth of the people and
the land of Konavle.
Drnis | Because of its favourable strategic location and the view over the fertile Peter's field and surrounding area, the Turks during their invasion in 1522, founded above the canyon of the Cikola river, their camp which is the place where today's Drnis was founded. It is 31km northeast from Sibenik and it is well connected with Split and through Knin with the hinterland. It has 9000 inhabitants. Because of the nearby fertile Peter's field it is traditionally orientated to the agriculture and cattle breeding and once it was a mining centre as there were some bauxite and coal mines.
During the Turkish domination numerous buildings were built but only some parts of the tower, a tall thin tower-minaret with the little church of St.Rocco's beside are preserved while the former big mosque was turned in the baroque period into the St.Anthony's church.
For the birth centennial of the famous Croatian sculptor Ivan Mestrovic a Domicile Museum was opened which has permanent exhibition of the archaeological rests even from the Neolithic era, further on there are some from the Roman times and finally some from the times when the Croats arrived to this area. In the Museum there is also a collection of the Mestrovic's works and the valuable ethnological collection. In the nearby village of Otavice Mestrovic had built a mausoleum for himself and the members of his family, which has great artistic value and is a very known cultural monument.
After the Homeland War when Drnis was devastated and burnt down and the inhabitants moved to other places, a period of renewal and development came.
Wider surroundings of Drnis like islet Visovac and Roski waterfall on the river Krka attract nature lovers and the pilgrims to the church of Our Lady of Visovac. Quality wines and very famous Drnis smoked ham are just one of all the reasons to visit this region.
Elafiti islands | see Dubrovnik
Gradac | Gradac is located on the southern end of Makarska Riviera, 40 km away from Makarska, halfway on the road from Split to Dubrovnik. Because of its unique combination of mountain Biokovo and some of the most beautiful beaches on the Adriatic and nearness to several attractive excursion destinations Gradac is an attractive place for a real vacation and a place guests are eager to come back to.
The area around Gradac was inhabited since prehistoric times, which is indicated by the numerous remains from the Bronze and Iron Age. During the period of antiquity a Roman town Biston, a part of Roman colony Narona was located there. Narona served as a major Roman stronghold in Croatia. At the hill Gradina a part of monumental Roman structure was found, dated from 2nd-3rd century AD, as well as some Roman coins.
After the Roman Biston in the area of present day Gradac Croatian settlement Lapèanj, Lapèan or Labinac, named Labineca by the Byzantine emperor in 10th century.
Gradac is mentioned for the first time in 1649. Named after a fort, located on the hilltop above the present day church of St. Mihovil, which was built probably on the eve of Candia War (1645-1665). According to the sketch by Venetian military engineer and an architect Giuseppe Santini, that shows naval and land battle between Venetian and Turkish forces near Gradac in 1666. (and which is preserved in the Split town museum), it used to be a round fort. The sketch shows it to be in flames, and it was razed down completely to stop it from serving as a Turkish stronghold.
In the abandoned village Èista near Gradac there are still the remains of an old fort mentioned in the 17th century. Around it there are remains of several abandoned houses built in typical local architectural style.
One of the oldest structures here is a chapel of St. Pakval on the hilltop Plana, with barrel-like ceiling and ad a two-layered roof.
One of the oldest religious structures here is a chapel on Graèke stone from 1730. with a carved statue of Madonna with Child. In the second half of 19th century a chapel on Grma with a carving of Gospe od Anðela.
New parochial church of St. Mihovil, built in 1852. in the centre of the town at the area of Gradina It has three marble altars with statues, the most interesting of which is an old wooden statues of St. Roko. Church also has an old stone baptistery, which probably remained from an old church. Gradac is now a modern tourist destination. In 1919. a first hotel was opened, and it experiences a more intensive tourist development in the 60's.
Hvar | see islands: Hvar
Imotski | Imotski - the central settlement in the wide Imotska Krajina, important cross-roads and small picturesque town near the fertile Imotsko Field. Historians have found that Imotski existed in the times of Ilirians and Romans, and it is first mentioned by the Byzantine Emperor Constantin Porfirogent in the 10th century.
The prehistoric mounds and Roman graves have been found in the vicinity. In the medieval historical sources it was mentioned as important fortress. On the hill above the town there are the ruins of the old fortress. Imotski is more than a millennium old town, first mentioned as Imota, Zupania ta Emotha, with it's fortress as a centre in the Byzantine Emperor Constantine Porphyrogenitus chronicle, "De administrando imperio," written between 948-952 A.C. During its history Imotski was occupied for many years by a foreign force starting with Turks in 1493, Italians in 1717, then Austrians in 1797, Napoleon's France between 1806-1813 who build much spoken of Napoleon road, and last Austrians ending with Frantz Joseph as a ruler who has left impact on Imotski architecture by building its Court House, County House, High School, and the Modro Jezero trails. The nature, starting with Modro Jezero, Red Lake, and Biokovo mountain is breathtaking.
Imotski used to consist of four old quarters: Bazana, Jezero, Pazar, and Djirada. To those we need to add much younger Gaj and New Settlement quarters. On the north Bage and Jaiæi settlements and Glavina on the southwest are slowly merging with Imotski.
History; Imotski town originates from years 845-864 when the Imotski fortress was built during Trpimir's rule of medieval Croatia. Zupania ta Hemotha, with it's fortress as a centre can be found in the Byzantine Emperor Constantine Porphyrogenitus chronicle, "De administrando imperio," written between 948-952 A.C. It is unknown if the town existed outside the fortress walls at that time.
There are scarce written documents mentioning Imotski before year 1500. In one document from 1246. g. officer Radoevic is mentioned as a commander of Imotski fortress. In a document from 1378, Dubrovnik republic asked Imotski duke Embrich to send 1000 soldiers to Ston to help out in their fight with Venetians. Imotski duke Embrich has proclaimed castello of Hum territory (castellanom terre Chelmi) or future Herzegovina. The first person from Imotski is mentioned in a register from Split in a connection with a dispute: "judices de terra Kalm nomine Grubac Maslouic, Nelipce Rubcich et Crasimir de Ymota" or in translation "Judges of Hum Grubach Maslovic, Nelipac Rupcic and Krasimir of Imotski. Imotski fortress also belonged to Herzog Stephen of Santo Saba or Hrvoje Vukèiæ Hrvatiniæ at the beginning of the 15th century. From 1435-1466 Hum was ruled by Herzog Stjepan Vukèiæ Kosaèa. Kosaèa has lived in Imotski old fortress which was repaired by a man called Ljubomir. Wilkinson in his "Dalmacia and Montenegro" writes that: "A stone was found in one of the walls with an inscription recording its restoration by Lubomir who is supposed to have been a Bosnian prince, before the Turkish invasion". Stjepan's son Vladislav took the fortress from him in 1452 after a quarrel because of Stjepan's wild life.
During the Turkish rule, starting in year 1493, the fortress was renovated and served as an important military post. Imotski town was a small town with approximately 130 houses according to Memibegoviæ description from 1624: "Imotski is a small town without walls, the fortress with the town around could have about 130 houses, together with few villages nearby near river Imotski, which enters in a lake, all together around one thousand souls.
After the defeat of the Turks on August 2, 1717 the Venetians took power and have installed their own administration, the trend that has been followed for the next two hundred years by various rulers. The fortress continued to have a military importance and had a military commander living there. The Venetians have started building the town shortly after the liberation. The parts of Imotski between Topana and Ante Starèeviæ street and "Skalini" and Modro Jezero were formed during that time. There are still houses built during their rule to this day. There are few records preserved from those years, including the first maps drawn by Pietro Corir. The first census, archived in Split dates from year 1744. "Stato del Anime di Borgo Imoschi", states that there were 18 houses with 82 souls, all living outside Topana fortress. Famous outlaw (hajduk) Stanko Soèivica chose Imotski to build a shop and house, house known as Ciciljani house, in 1745 after robbing his Turkish master in Trebinje region. The Venetians ruled Imotski for eighty years and were replaced by Austrians in 1797 after the former were defeated by Napoleon. Nine years later Napoleon was victorious in war with Austria. He conquered Dalmatia bringing long lasting changes. The first elementary school opened in Imotski 1807 and the health system was improved. To stimulate commerce the roads were improved. To this age people are fond of "Napoleon road" that runs parallel to mount Biokovo. Austrians again took possession of the Croatian lands in 1813 displacing the French. There were many significant changes during more than hundred years of second Austrian rule. Imotski was fully formed during that time. The map of Imotski from 1835 shows fully formed older part of the town. The coat of arms originates form the second half of the 19th century. It was created after the People Party has defeated the foreign rule oriented parties.
The church played very important role in the history of Imotski and Imotski County. The Franciscans came soon after the defeat of the Turks and contributed significantly toward the development of the town. The old St. Francis of Assisi church was built between 1727 - 1736. The campanile was added in 1850. The works on the new church have started in 1863, after it was decided that the old church was insufficient for the needs of the growing town and its nearby villages. It was completed in 1904. Red tiled roof was put in year 1890, in part determining the origin of one of the first Imotski panoramic photographs.
Under the Austrian rule the town got petroleum lamps, canalization, and running water. A first hotel was built by Dunda family. Even a brass orchestra and a public reading room were founded in 1870. At the beginning of the 20th century the Austrians with Frantz Joseph as a ruler left impact on Imotski architecture by building its Court House, County House, High School, and the Modro Jezero trails. The town continued to grow spreading towards east, being blocked with the Modro Jezero on the west. The Austrian occupation ended with the end of WW I, when the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes was formed. That proved to be an unsuccessful experiment, but the town has experienced the continued growth and development. After the WW II the communists came on power, but even them were unable to keep Yugoslavia together. After 1991, Imotski belongs to the state of Croatia, closing the full circle after nine hundred years.
Modro Jezero, Blue Lake, is a big chasm near Imotski. On the south-eastern side is surrounded with Jezero quarter of Imotski. On the eastern side is Bazana and on the northeast is Bage settlement. The depth of the lake from the upper rim is 220 meters. Water level could reach more than 90 meters in the early spring when the snow from the Bosnian mountains melts. The water level reached 107 meters and the lake was overflowing at the south rim in 1914. It is a popular place for tourists and Imotski residents who like to take walks to the main vista and back to the town, often several times per day. It is very accessible. There are several man made vistas in the lake offering beautiful views. Spending a few hours exploring it is highly recommended. Lovers tend to spend longer then that amount of time. It is the one of the most frequent reasons for parents scolding their kids who cannot stop exploring it.
There are stone built trails that go almost to the bottom of the lake. They are very busy during the summer when the young and not so young people go swimming there. The trails were build in year 1904, during the reign of Frantz Joseph. They were renovated many times. The last time they were fortified with concrete. They are in very good shape now, ready to take an onslaught and out of town visitors, mainly the Imotski natives who left Imotski pursuing their carriers. Near the bottom of the lake there are three plazas that are quite popular with the visitors. There are many caves in the lake. Several are very difficult to reach. Bokova cave was used as a shelter during the WW II. The more known ones are. In the lake itself, depending on the season you could see several well known boulders. The appearance of the Kataviæ boulder, six meters high, usually means the beginning of the swimming season. In the recent years, the appearance of the Jakiæin boulder is the beginning of the swimming season. The name originates from a poor soul who fell asleep on it and tragically fell down. Jakiæin boulder appears towards the middle of the swimming season, while Paviæ rock signals the end of the season. The nearby cliffs serve as a diving platform where the courageous try to earn recognition of the spectators. 20 meter dives on the head are not uncommon, while a legs ahead jump are be made from more than 40 meters.
THE RED LAKE
The Red lake is karsts lake too. It is the deepest lake in Croatia and Europe. It has a well shape, and is a protected natural monument, too. From its north side (from the highest edge to the bottom) is 520 m deep, and 420 m from the south side. It has the same inclination as the Blue lake (toward the Imotski fields). It is about 300 m in diameter. The bottom of the lake is 4 m above the sea level. The water level varies from 250 to 300 m.
Jelsa Jelsa is situated in the middle of the north coast of the island of Hvar. The settlement is concentrated by the sea while the hinterland is surrounded by dense pine woods on the sloping hills of the island's ridge. Jelsa is the only place on the island with an abundance of fresh water, which is the cause of more luxurious vegetation than in the other areas of the island.
Entering Jelsa by road one passes through the alley of poplars that leads into the town park of lush vegetation, which is a certain surprise and very much a rarity in a distinctly stony area.
At first sight Jelsa appears to be a relatively new town with 19th century characteristics in its urban and architectural sense. However, one gradually discovers later on that it is an old town with a history dating back to ancient times. The evidence that this part of the island was inhabited from neolithic times is the Grabceva cave (Grabceva spilja) within reach of Jelsa, the discoveries of which gave the essential information for the study of the life of Neolithic man and his culture on the island Hvar in general, and the wider area around it. The immediate vicinity of the Greek Pharos and the exceptional location of Jelsa indicate the existence of the settlement from Greek times.
On the mountain spur that projects to the south above Jelsa, is Tor, a solid, massive fortification built of huge regular shaped blocks of stone joined without mortar. It was a Greek observation point, which stands on an older Illyrian fort. The location is ideal for observation as it dominates the valley of Stari Grad, the Hvar channel and Jelsa, and there are high cliffs behind it. Slightly east of Tor there are the ruins of the fort of Grad (Galesnik), which as an observation point has the same importance as Tor. It is probable that this fort is from the late ancient period, even though it was of great importance in the Middle Ages.
The material remains of the Roman period prove the existence of a settlement in the area of Jelsa. Several villas are preserved in the area of Kutac, round St. Rock and in the cove called Carkvica of St. Luke.
The medieval settlement of Jelsa formed at the end of the 14th century as the port of the village of Pitve, was mentioned in the Statute of 1331 as a "Fons vocata Jelsa" and "Portus se Pitve". The same statute mentioned "Civites vetus Jelsae" (the old town of Jelsa), which referred to the already dilapidated remains of the port of the Middle Ages on the peninsula of Gradina . On this site in 1605 the Augustinian monastery, of which only the church remained, was deserted, the cemetery was laid out in the 19th century and has been in use up to the present day.
Jelsa developed primarily, especially in the 19th century, due to shipbuilding and navigation, from small seaport town whose inhabitants dealt mainly with fishing and agriculture. This conditioned its urban expansion and its acquisition of the main role on the central part of the island. The harbour and break-waters were begun around 1830, after which in about 1850 the reclamation of marshy land started, round Vela and Mala Banda and Soline, and on the resulting dyke poplars were the town park was created.
On the sea-board next to the town, a town council building and a town hall were built. The town hall has neo-Gothic furniture from the end of the 19th century, made by Perisuti, an artist from Jelsa. In the area of Mala Banda there is the Dubokovic-Nadalini house from the end of the 19th century, partly built in the 16th century. The house has some well-preserved antique furniture, an extensive library, the family archive, and a series of paintings and items of art; the house alone is a small museum.
Klis | Klis it lies between mountains Kozjak and Mosor, eleven kilometres from Split. The core of the settlement is below the medieval fortress. The Klis fortress, one of the most significant fortifications in Croatia, due to its strategic importance had a significant defence position. From the 2nd century BC this area was inhabited by the Illyrian tribe of Delmati, while the first records about the fortress from the 10th century speak of the Roman fortress Kleisa being besieged by the Avars and Slavs which hastened the conquering of Salona in the first half of the 7th century at the time of arrival of the Croats. Two centuries later Klis had already become the ruler's property and one of the centers of the Croatian state.
In the document issued by prince Trpimir in 852 the court is mentioned as his property, and it also became the centre of the Early Croatian Littoral or Klis County (Parathalassia). The end of the 11th century was marked by the end of the Croatian national dynasty and Klis fell under the rule of the Hungaro-Croatian kings. One of them, Bela IV and his family used the Klis fortress as shelter during the Tatar siege in 1242, at which time his daughter Margita was born. Nowadays she is celebrated as St. Margita of Klis.
By the end of the 13th century Klis was ruled by the princes ubiæ's of Bribir, the mightiest family of Croatia, and from 1335 the town was again under
the protection of the king and the administration of its fortress commanders.
The most turbulent time of the history of Klis was the beginning of the 16th century, the time of the greatest Turkish invasion to these areas. An important role in its defence was played by Petar Kruiæ, captain and town duke, who together with his warriors Uskoks managed for two and a half decades to resist Turkish attacks and besieges. With his death on March 12, 1537, Klis fell under Turkish rule which meant the loss of the most powerful Croatian fortification in Dalmatia. For 111 years the Jadro River was the border between the Turkish Klis (Kliki Sandak) and the Venetian controlled Split. During one of the attempts to liberate Klis, the Croats led by Split noblemen Ivan Alberti and Nikola Cindro utilized the element of surprise and managed to take over the fortress in April 1596. However the Turks conquered it again by the end of May, thus defeating Croatian general Juraj Lenkovic who came to the aid of the defenders. As late as March 31, 1648 the Venetian army led by general Leonardo Foscolo, joined by the numerous Croatian locals, managed to liberate Klis from the Turks after 10 days of hard-fought battles and achieved its greatest success during the Cretan War. The area of Klis was organized as a special military and administrative area ruled by the provider based in Klis.
The Klis fortress, completely restored and significantly enlarged, remained under the flag of Venice until 1797 when it was taken over by the Austrians. From 1805 until 1813 it was shortly ruled by the French. The period of the second Austrian administration lasted until the end of World War I in 1918, when, with the fall of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy, Klis, together with the remaining parts of Croatia shared the same fate of all Croatian lands within the borders of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, and afterwards Yugoslavia.
During World War II, from April 1941 until October 1944, the Klis fortress was for the last time used for military purposes, mainly as the stronghold of Italian and German occupation forces. Finally in 1990 the flag of the sovereign Republic of Croatia was placed on it.
Knin | Knin is situated 55km northeast from Sibenik to which it is connected by the road that connect Dalmatia with its hinterland. Owing to its position, many centuries it was an important strategic centre which controlled the roads that connect the hinterland with the sea.
The history of Knin goes back to the 6th and the 7th ct. at the times of the great migration of peoples, although numerous archaeological remains prove much older life in this area. About its medieval importance best proof is the fact that in 1040 a diocese was founded here and its authority was recognized as far as to the river Drava. Because of its geographic location and defence forces, Knin was in the past the most important fortress in Dalmatia. Very well preserved Knin fort on the Spas hill overlooking the town, proves it. Knin was the capital of the Croatian kings and it reached its prosperity during the reign of the King Zvonimir, between 1074 and 1088 and that's why the town is often called Zvonimir's town. Its strategic role played important part in many wars and power changes - beginning with the Croatian noblemen, Croat-Hungarian kings, Venetians, Turks, to Austrians and French. By the end of the 19th century Knin ceases to be military-strategic centre and since that period it grows steadily becoming important in economy and commerce and as road and railway transportation centre.
Knin was not spared in recent Civil War, too as it became the centre of the rebels against the Croatian Republic. Nevertheless in 1995 above the town, at the top of the fortress, Croatian flag was hoisted. It meant the new beginning and renewal of development as well as the return of its inhabitants and their orientation towards the economic prosperity.
Knin area abounds in cultural and historical monuments, it is near the source of the river Krka and the National Park of the river Krka, it can offer to its guests local specialities like widely known smoked ham, cheese and roast lamb which makes it interesting to many visitors. The surrounding areas of Knin are also known as mountaineering and speleologists' destinations in addition to the sports fishing and game hunting in the Burnum reserve. Burnum itself, which is only 18km far from Knin is also known for being an Illyrian settlement and from the year 33, it was a Roman military camp so some of its arches that belonged once to the military head quarters can be often seen on the visitors' photographs.
Lastovo | see islands Korcula
Makarska | Not far away from Split and its Diocletian Palace, which is on UNESCO's list of worlds heritage, lies Makarska. Embodying in herself all that one desires from a tourist destination which with its many facilities satisfies every- one's taste in each and every season, and on the other hand a destination which enables you to be only with yourself if you want, Makarska will be a proper choice for those that enjoy the atmosphere of stone cobbled Dalmatian streets, southern openness, all combined with a superb tourist offer. Makarska is tucked in a natural harbour fringed with the green peninsulas of Osejava and St.Peter, at the very bottom of impressive Mount Biokovo. Indeed, nature has been generous secluded beaches, bare rugged rocks, straits and immense sea. And as soon as your eyes have adjusted to the azure of the sea, it is enough to cast your eyes over the roofs of Makarska to spot Mt. Biokovo thus witnessing the extraordinary amalgam of Mediterranean and mountainous. There, of butterfly and flowers one does not learn from books. After all, nature and life are far better teachers. The town is the heart of the Makarska Riviera, a long coastal strip which will surprise you by its beauty and preserved nature. Long sand or pebble beaches, pine forests, ever clear waters are only a tiny bit of tourist values you may discover if visiting Tucepi, Zaostrog all the way to Brela, one of the most favourite spots for many tourists. From Makarska they are all at hand. But not only them. Day excursions to Split, Dubrovnik or Medjugorje are also possible. Or perhaps islands of Hvar, Brac or Korcula, which are, thanks to modern and fast ships, just across the road. Right from the very beginnings the town of Makarska has been the centre of the micro-region, Makarska Riviera, owing to its geographical position, cultural and historical importance. It is situated in a naturally protected harbour; the Osejava cape closing in from the southeast side and peninsula of St. Peter's from the northwest. The town expands amphitheatrically up to slopes of mountain Biokovo.
The Tabula Peuntingeriana from the first half of the fourth century mentions "the antique settlement of Inaronia" as a stop on the coastal road from Salona to Narona and the authenticity of the settlement has been proved by many archaeological remains. The antique finds on St. Peter's peninsula, at the central town square, and near the Franciscan monastery, as well as by Lower Harbour, prove that the town has grown on remains of a one-time Roman town or even an older, pre-historical settlement. According to the documents of the Synod of Salona on 4th May 533., Mucurum was the place where the diocese was founded.
The Ravenat's itinerary from 7th century mentions the settlement as "Aronia id est Mucru". All through the 7th century Croatian tribes settled the coast between the Cetina and the Neretva rivers. The Byzantine emperor Constantine Porphirogenet refers to them In this book "De administrando imperio", written in the middle 10th century, as to "the Arentanians" and he calls their land "Pagania". The same source mentions the district of "Mocro", "where there are vessels by the sea". That was the reason why the Venetian dodge Peter Candian carne down to Mucules on 18th September 877. There he was defeated in a sea battle and Venice had to pay to people living by the Neretva in order to sail the Adriatic free.
But the power of the Neretva Principality slowly expires in the 13th century. Centuries that follows witnessed continuos struggles for power among the princes of Bribir, Bosnia and Herzegovina sovereigns, Hungarian and Croatian kings, as well as Venice. Most of Dalmatian towns prosper under aegis of the Venetian Republic, and Makarska becomes the centre of Venetian and Turkish struggles of interests.
In 1502 Mohammed Musin, the town of Foca kadi, mentions in one of his documents Makarska by that name for the first time. By name time Makarska was the centre of Primorje nahija (district) and the Turks had their military troops. They took great care of maintaining a ferry used for trading with neighbouring countries. In the middle of the 16th century the Turks fortified the town of Makarska by three towers connected by protective walls in order to fend away Venetian attacks. One can still se what they looked like on the graphic made in 1572 by Venetian map-maker G.F. Camozio and at the same time that is the oldest picture-document of Makarska that is kept from decay. St. Peter's church on St.Peter's peninsula can easily be recognized and on the eastern side, outside the town walls, the Franciscan monastery and St. Mary's church have already been built.
In 1646 the nobility and the people of Kraina recognized the Venetian authority and yet, not until 1681 Makarska was "de facto" annexed to Venice. The foundations of the future town grew under a hundred-year-long rule of the Venetian lion. Alberto Fortis, the Italian writer of travels, wrote about it, admiring the beauty of new building and the three church towers. At the end of 17th century St. Peter's church was restored in baroque style. It was first mentioned in the sources in the early 14th century and later demolished. In 1962 it was by an earthquake, and in 1992 it was finally completely reconstructed. The Franciscan monastery has also been widened and reconstructed.
Makarska began to get its modern physiognomy at the time when bishop Nikola Bjankovic lived. St. Mark's cathedral was built and consecrated in 1766. Right in front of it is a spacious square and a late baroque style drinking-fountain built in 1775. In 1758 the church and the oratorio of St. Philip Neri were built on the very shore of Makarska. Due to intensive trading and profit the town of Makarska expanded to the west. Young aristocracy built luxurious houses and palaces in Dalmatian baroque style. It is important to mention the baroque palace owned by Ivanisevic family situated in the eastern part of the old town, as well as the Tonolli family palace that today houses the Town Museum.
The Campoformi agreement in 1797 declared Makarska as part of Austria and the Peace agreement in Bratislava 1805 declared it French. The new government introduced new way in order to modernize educational system, economy and infrastructure. An obelisk, raised in honour of the French marshal Marmont, today is located by the western entrance into town.
In 1813 Makarska comes again under Austrian crown. New ideas of the Croatian national revival in the 19th century that promoted freedom and the usage of Croatian language were readily accepted. Therefore it is easily understood why right in Makarska, among all Dalmatian towns, on 24th October 1865 the Croatian national party won elections and gained political power and predominance in public life. That is the day we now days celebrate as the City Day. But the act or raising the monument of Andrija Kacic Miosic, by the Croatian sculptor Ivan Rendic. crowned Croatian strains and attempts to unite all parts of the country. Through the 19th century libraries and reading-rooms in coastal towns, as well as in Makarska, became centers of cultural, public and political life. In the middle of 18th century Makarska was the first among all Dalmatian towns to get the public library owing to archbishop Antun Kadcic. On that tradition grew foundations of future cultural and public life. The existence or a theatre, a philharmonic orchestra, drama and singing companies witness the active society life of that time. That philharmonic orchestra made it possible to establish the modern City Music Band and in the first years of 20th century many sport clubs were founded (for ex. a rowing club, a mountain-climbing club, a football club ...).
During the period under the Austrian rule many new houses and public building were built. Just further up St. Marko's cathedral, towards the north, there is a "the old school" built in 2nd half of the 19th century in classicistic style. The original intention was to have Glagolitic monastery there and today accommodates The City Art Gallery of Antun Gojak, The City Library, The Elementary Music School, the editorial of the local newspaper "Makarsko primorje" and local radio "Radio Makarska Riviera". On Marineta, a part of town situated by the seashore, there is a romantic late 19th century palace that belonged to the noble Kacic-Peko family built in new-renaissance style and looking much like a fortified castle.
In the early twenties Makarska began to get the image of a tourist resort owing to its urban planning and natural advantages. And because of tourism Makarska (with approximately 15,000 inhabitants) makes every effort to modernize its infrastructure, economy and health system as well as tourism, cultural, recreational and sports life. Veliko Brdo, Puharici, Makar and Kotisina, small villages situated at the foot of Biokovo mountain, attract visitors because of their natural beauty, old fortifications, rural way of building and the traditional way of life. From there one can reach the highest peaks of Biokovo climbing up trodden down and well marked paths. You can enjoy walking through beautiful parks, valleys, pits, and meadows. The mountain is rich in endemic plants and big animals such as the chamois and mouflons which makes it possible to continue the long tradition of hunting tourism.
MAKARSKA TOWN MUSEUM
Today the museum holdings are sorted in several collections and sub-collections, and there are more than 2700 objects in its inventory, as well as considerable written sources, photographic documentation, drawings, blueprints and copies related to the abundant cultural heritage of the town of Makarska and the Makarska Littoral.
Museum's priority task, apart from the preparation of annual thematic exhibitions accompanied by catalogues monographs, organization of scientific symposiums, realization of archaeological research projects and the publishing of the museum magazine is the final realization of the permanent museum display.
The museum exists and operates in the baroque palace Tonoli, a cultural monument situated at the coast itself. The museum institution in the town of Makarska was founded in 1962, when the Museum of the National Liberation Struggle of the Biokovo area was established. The museum holdings contained a collection of archivalia and objects from the Makarska region from the modern history period. In 1973, the Museum was integrated with the Makarska Municipal Centre for Culture, thus becoming a dependent unit within the Centre, and changing its name into The Museum of Revolution. Through a gradual change of the manner and scope of work, as well as an expansion of the area of activities and collection of items, the foundation for the future formation of museum collections representing all historic periods was made. At that time, the museum library and archive were established.
In accordance with the social changes in 1991, the Museum changed its name into the County Museum of the Makarska Littoral. The Archaeological, Ethnographic and Cultural-Historical collections were formed, and the Modern history collection was expanded with a series of sub-collections. The Gallery department, established through a donation of the heirs of paintings and drawings of Antun Gojak, a painter from Makarska, became a constituent part of the Museum.
When the Makarska Municipal Centre for Culture was dissolved in 1995, The Makarska Municipal Musem was founded as an independent cultural institution. Following the separation of the Gallery department from the Museum, the Town Gallery of Antun Gojak was also established.
MALACOLOGICAL MUSEUM MAKARSKA
Founded by Fra Jure Radic in 1963, this magnificent display of snails and shellfish of the Adriatic and the whole world is today touristic the best-known malacological collection in Croatia. Besides the Fra Jure Radic malacological collection, the museum also has a fine herbarium of Biokovo plants, and a small local palacontological collection.
The Malacological Museum in Makarska displays the shells of sea molluscs. This museum resulted from the systematic and self-sacrificing work of the theologian and natural scientist Fra Jure Radic and the support and cooperation of many people, scholars, museum workers, collectors, and especially his faithful colleague Fra Franjo Carev. They worked under the slogan: "BY THE PEOPLE - TO THE PEOPLE - FOR THE PEOPLE".
The museum was opened to the public on 30th April 1963 in the old part of the Franciscan Monastery, which is under protection as a cultural monument. Over 3,000 shells include not only those from the Adriatic, but also many species from tropical and subtropical seas, in colour and shape the most magnificent of all shells.
ANTUN GOJAK TOWN GALLERY
Antun Gojak city gallery is situated in the ex Classical high school building called The old school (Don Mihovila Pavlinovica 1) with the 91,45 square meters of exhibition place and 67 square meters for depot and office.
In 1988. Marin Gojak donated to the City of Makarska 132 pictures and 201 graphics from his brother Antun Gojak. With that donation begins establishment of the Gallery. With efforts of few art lovers this donation is presented to the public, and become a collection for final establishment of City gallery. Donation is property of City.
Through various donations, number of pictures grown to 400. Every year was organized about 12 exhibitions.
VEPRIC - CROATIA LOURDES
Vepric, a Croatian sanctuary dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes was founded in 1908 by Bishop dr. Juraj Caric (1867 - 1921), who himself was buried on the premises of the sanctuary.
The natural cave as well as the surrounding landscape formed by hills and the creek running in the valley, greatly reminds pilgrims of the famous sanctuary of Lourdes in France, where Our Lady appeared 18 times at Bernadette Soubirous in 1858.
On the sanctuary, a chapel and a sacristy with an outside altar, as well as well as several confessionals, a Way of the Cross, a house for retreats and paths for processions have already been constructed. A new house is currently being built for the purposes of the sanctuary.
Because of its natural beauty and its peaceful surroundings, this sanctuary is visited by a great number of pilgrims, through the year. Te most important dates for pilgrimages are: February 11th , March 25th , August 15th , September 7-8th
CHURCH OF ST. MARK THE EVANGELIST
The construction, according to the original plan, two long, broad wings are still lacking, however, in 1756., the church is blessed in it's current form by the bishop of Makarska, Stjepan Blaskovic.
Situated on the right, upon entering the church, is the alter containing the remains of St. Clement, martyr and patron saint of the diocese of Makarska. In the year of 1725, during the office of Bishop Nikola Bijankovic, the remains of St. Clement were brought from the Roman catacombs to family Kacic and thereafter were transferred to the church of St. Mark. this is accounted for by a silver plaque on the alter.
On the left side of the entrance is situated the alter of Our Lady, above which rests a second small silver plated alter of Our Lady of the Rosary. The latter alter depicts the Virgin and Child painted on wood in the style of the Byzantine school. According to accounts from the inhabitants of Makarska, this alter was produced in the year of 1815, during the plague. The second alter on the left side of the entrance is the alter of the Sacred Cross. This alter portrays the Cavalry using human sized statues. During the earthquake of 1962, the church suffered damages, the renovation of which brought substation changes of the church's interior.
The main alter was relocated back to the Chapel of the Holy Sacrament. This alter is regarded by many as the most beautiful of the church's alters and is a work of Venetian masters. Two marble statues are situated on the alter, one of St. Mark, patron saint of the parish and the second of St. Jeronim, who is co-patron. Located at the front of alter we can see a marble relief based upon the masterpiece of Leonardo da Vinci, the Last Supper. The two large wooden statues of angels on the outer sides of the alter ha previously belonged to a Venetian church, a fact attested to by an inscription. There are other inscription to be found in the church which chronicle the history of the church's construction.
Between main alter and Bishop's Seat, is stated the grave of Bishop Nikola Bijankovic who initiated the construction of St. Mark's church. He died on the 10th of August 1730 and was considered a saint during his life, he is remembered as referring to himself as "dust, ashes and nothing".
Also buried within the church are other past Bishops of Makarska, but their inscriptions are covered by today's floor. Moreover the church is home to the remains for distinguished families of Makarska and religious brotherhoods. However at one point, when the floor was being restored, the tombstones and inscriptions were moved to the town's present graveyard.
Modern additions, build after the earthquake of 1962, include the choir balcony and, in 1970, the current church organ, built by J. Jenko using the parts of the old Nakic organ.
FRANCISCAN CHURCH OF BLESSED VIRGIN MARY
Old monastery Church of St. Mary exists in Makarska no later then in 15th century. More times was burned and damaged but also repaired. With that reparations are imported a new elements, often provided by island constructor for cheaply and therefore some have obsolete build. We know that church has serviced, and possibly and expanded 1502. Again is widen and obtain sacristy in the time of servicing of monastery (1576). After the year 1671. chorus is mount, stone fence before altar, statue St. Ante is provided and crucifix and separately poliptih of Petro Costero, Ascension of St. Mary (1680) and large picture by Antonio Molinar. At the beginning of XVIII. century church is decorated with stone altar of St. Ante and pulpit which are from carver workshop has withhold renaissance element at that time already lapsed. In XVIII. century large altar and altar of St. Ante is ornate with baroque altar, baroque silver crucifix, wooden sculpture, and provided are chalice and other ecclesiastical furniture. Church is afterwards repaired and gain onto facade two neo romantic windows. In church are funeral plinths, many with Croatian inscription. Amongst them is grave of family Kacic with their coat of arms. Whereby is church long serve like Minster of Makarska bishopric, in her are embed two bishop fra Petar Kacic and fra Marijan Lisnjic . Diggings from the grave are keep in collection (sacristy). Beside church is campanile onto two floors, with ornamental head onto arch. Lay of the foundations was in 1712. and completed 1715. Builder was Andrija Ruspini. Campanile has lightning damage and was 1721-1722. renewed and likewise 1881. and 1996-1997.
Old church after transition of all divinity in Makarska become scrimp, so them begin round year 1910. think onto building new church and prepare material. However, merely g. 1930. was beginning of building new church by the project of Ark. Stjepan Podhorski. Church has complete and consecrate 1940. She is a type of centric building with cupola. Large altar is made from marble and above him is baldachin. In gallery are simple marble altar of St. Mary and St. Ante, work of carver Ante Franko. In church is baroque Crucifix way, from old church. Year. 1961-2. emplacement are little organ made by firm Rieger, which previously was on Dobri in Split.
Marina | a village and small harbour in the interior part of the Marina bay, 12 km west of Trogir; population 1000. The coasts of the Marina bay are very well indented, with a number of small coves with sand and pebble beaches. Marina is located on the main road (M2, E65). Small yachts may dock within the small harbour and are protected from all winds; larger yachts may dock at the end of the bay, southeast of the chapel and south of the Plokata hill. The settlement was planned in the 16th century. In the period 1495-1500 the bishops of Trogir built a quadrangular tower on the islet in the bay. The tower has console battlements (the channel between the mainland and the tower was filled up and levelled at the beginning of the 20th c.); the structure was repaired during the war in 1657 and 1717; reconstructed in 1971/1972. The church of St. John has Gothic and Renaissance elements. In the field close to the village there is a small Gothic church of St. Luke with the coat of arms of the Sobota family. Major tourist attractions of Marina are a nice sand beach in the shade of olive and pine trees, the atmosphere of ancient Dalmatian wine cellars, fresh fish and quality local wines, a blend of the ancient and the modern. Sportsmen and recreation enthusiasts may enjoy yachting, diving and fishing. Boats and yachts are rented. Entertainment and cultural programs are offered in the nearby towns of Trogir and Split. The Marina riviera comprises Vinisce, Poljica and Sevid, small places with accommodation facilities. Agana Marina: in Marina has 140 berths in the sea and 100 places on the land.
Milna | Milna alongside Bobovisce is the only settlement on the west coast of the island of Brac. Positioned deep inside the largest haven on the island, it is well protected against winds, but exposed to the warm sun. Like no other island's town, it preserved the harmony of fishermen's houses and rural architecture in the background with winding roads going to vineyards and olive-groves. This town, more than any other on the island, is oriented toward the sea through fishing and maritime affairs. Milna is the largest, best protected and the most beautiful harbour on the island. It's split into two sleeves named Zalo and Pantera. Between them there is a wide cape on which, around the church and the old castle named Angliscina, houses are crowded together. Their stone façades looking at the sun, as well as those on the Racic, the northern harbour slope, make the beautiful ambient unity, really valuable by it's typicality in this Mediterranean ambiance.
Milna developed at the end of 16th and the beginning of the 17th century mostly from settlers from Nerezisce. The noble family Cerinic has built a small church, that is known in historical documents as ecclesia Ste Mariae Milnavi, and a small castle. Around that core the settlement begun forming. Since the population grew larger, and the parish in Nerezisce was far, at the beginning of the 17th century the people of Milna with those from Bobovisce wanted to separate from Nerezisce. They have chosen this small private church for their parochial church in 1646. A century later Milna had about 500 inhabitants. Next to the small church, that became a sacristy, a new baroque church was built in 1783. Today it dominates the town on a nice elevated spot, to which lead stone stairs.
Since that time Milna's history is connected to the sea. In the mid 19th century in Milna's shipyards in Pantera and Vlaska 16 ships were built with total carrying capacity of 1328 tones which is 253 tones more then in Split's shipyards (Split is much larger than Milna, and it was and still is a regional centre), and more than all shipyards in Hvar, Komiza and Trogir together. One of the most common kinds of wooden cargo ships on whole Adriatic sea (and further) was called bracera (Brazza=Brac, Italian name for the island), because the prototype was built on this island, in Milna's shipyards.
During the Napoleon's government in Dalmatia, before Milna a naval battle took place between the Russian reconnaissance ship Alexander and the French, who had their fortification (batterie) on Zaglav in Split's gates. That region is still called Baterija. When he heard about the presence of the Russian ship, the French marshal Marmont ordered, from Split, to his gun-ships to attack and capture the Russian ship. People of Split informed Russian naval officers about French intentions, and people of Brac have set five bonfires on hills to warn Russians about the number of enemy ships. After overpowering French ships and their fortification, the Russian ship sailed into Milna and re-established the new island's government with eminent people of Brac. After that, Milna was the island's capital for a year under the rule of the Russian emperor. Alluvium that floods brought through valleys to the Pantera and Zalo, created abundance of mud and sand, that was called by old people of Brac with common Slavic noun mil. Such milna (meaning muddy and sandy) bay was in that way different to all other neighbouring bays. With time the noun bay became superfluous and the adjective milna remained as the only name. Many Milna nobles who were in direct connections with Venetians, considered the Venetian dialect as the sign of prestige and by using it and making a habit of it, they had significant influence on Brac's dialect.
Although there were findings from as early as ancient Greek and early Christian age, Milna is not an ancient settlement, and its monuments are not very old. The oldest among them is the castle of family Cerinic, the origin of which is not known, so a legend told a tale about an English lord, and from that tale the castle is named Angliscina (from Anglia=England). Next to it is a baroque church, whose decorative bead moulding flows around walls and splits the gable from the façade with a niche containing a statue of Our Lady. There is also a statue of Our Lady on top of the gable, as well as on every altar inside the church.
National park Kornati | See a-z list national parks
National park Krka | See a-z list national parks
National park Mljet | See a-z list national parks
National park Paklenica | See a-z list national parks
Narona | The remains of the ancient city of Narona is situated at the place that we now call the village of Vid near Metkovic. Narona is located on a southeast, sunny hillside to the base of the hill. On Naronas site in pre-historical time, there probably were no meaningful or important settlements. Enclosed with this statement is that there are no pre-historic materials, buildings or settlements found. Namely, most of the settlements were found on the platform of the higher ground. Narona is just like the Greek settlements spread on the sunny side of the hill.
According to historical documents, Narona was first mentioned as an emporium and triremes navigation port on Neretva by the Greek historian Pseudo Scylax . The Greek geographer Strabo also provided information that Narona was mentioned as a trade city by Theopompus, who is also one of the Greek historians.
Launching a trade centre upstream as a place where large boats were able to navigate was necessary due to the extreme importance of receiving and distributing goods. Most likely, traders from the far away islands of Chios and Thassos did not use Narona as a trading place like Theopompus said they did. However, it is proven that the Greek colonies on the Adriatic Sea did. From the 4th back to the 2nd centuries B.C., there is no epigraph monument, so we are not sure that there were any living Greek ethnic groups in this area. In the 2nd century B.C., Narona had developed very urbanize physiognomy. This we know since the beam with imagery dancers and newly founded architecture were found beneath the Roman forum.
During the 2nd century B.C., Romans became very interested in Narona. In 156 B.C., Roman soldiers lead by Gaius Marcia Figulus went to war against the Daors nation. Probably Narona was used as their main base. Most likely in 135 B.C. even Sever Fulvous Floccus in the war against Ardies used Narona for the same purpose. Roman soldier were using Narona during the middle of the 1st century B.C. as well. This we know through the letters sent by Vatinius to Cicero. According to Varron, during that same time, Narona was the centre of a large court convent. At that time, numbers of Italics were living in Narona. After Octavians war movement in 33B.C. there is a significant influx of the population in Narona. Therefore, Narona became a colony, during the Caesar or Augustus Empire. During the Roman Empire, buildings of public importance were built in the city like the forum, temples, thermal, theatre.
The written documentations are not stating a lot about the beginnings of Christianity in Narona. The first and only written document in regards to this matter, stats that Naronas Bishop Marcellus attended two council meetings in 530 and 533.( From the same documentation, we know that Narona was the Dioceses main centre. The Church as a foundation, mostly kept the old administrative division: on the Northwest it was Salona with borders close to the city of Makarska (Muccur); on the Southeast it was Epidaurum, with the border slightly farther down from the peninsula of Peljesac including the Northwest part of the island of Mljet, island of Lastovo, Stons Valley, and on the North the border was all the way up to city of Mostar. At the Bishops Council meeting in 533, two more Diocese were founded; Muccur (Makarska) and Sarsenterum.
It is a fact that Narona as a city existed up to the 7th century. We know this due to the large finding of money and jewellery from that time. The new archaeological excavation and findings show us that life in Narona continued even during the 7th century.
Neum | Neum is the only seaside town in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Around it there is about 25 km of coastline which is the only access of this country to the Adriatic Sea. It is located in the Herzegovina-Neretva Canton of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina entity. Neum coastline, showing hotels and beaches and Croatia at a distance behind Neum has steep hills, sandy beaches and several large tourist hotels. Prices tend to be lower here than in neighbouring Croatia, making it popular with shoppers. Tourism, and the commerce it brings, is the leading contributor to the economy of the area. Border formalities with Croatia are relaxed in peak times.
Neum has around 5000 beds for tourists, 2000 in hotels with the remaining capacity in the remaining beds are mainly private accommodation in typical stone masoned Dalmatian homes. Tourism in Nuem is active only in the coastal region. The inland area behind Neum has a rich archaeological history and untouched wilderness and is starting to develop agricultural tourism.
Neum has long and warm summers and short and mild winters. It ranks among the coastal towns with the most sunny days per year. The average sea temperature ranges from 13 degrees Celsius in January to 32 degrees Celsius in July and August. Popular activities include swimming and sun bathing, walks along the beach, boating and various water-sports.
Neum is 65km from Dubrovnik (75 km from the Dubrovnik airport), 78 km from Mostar and Meðugorje and 33 km from Ploèe and Metkoviæ, both of which have railway stations
Nin | a town on the coast of the southern part of Ninski Bay, on Zdrijac Peninsula, 17 km north of Zadar. It has a population of 2000. It developed on a low peninsula that was turned into an island when a channel was dug out in the 14th century. It is connected to the mainland by small bridges. The economy is based on agriculture, wine, olive and fruit growing, as well as fishing and tourism. It lies on a regional road. Nin is known for its rich history. Since it was one of the main cultural centres of the early Croatian state, monuments of characteristic early Croatian architecture, dating back to the period from the 8th to 11th century, stand out. Particularly interesting are the old Croatian sv. Kriz church from the 9th century, considered to be the smallest cathedral in the world, and a treasury of gold and silver from Nin. Nin is much more than a historic town. Along with its surroundings, it offers favourable conditions for holidays and recreation, particularly for health tourism. Several long, sandy lagoons, far away from traffic, industrial zones and noise, having therefore a particular micro-climate, surround Nin. The shallow waters that cut deep into the mainland are 2-3 °C warmer than open sea waters. They also have higher salinity and aerosol. The sea is clean thanks to the shallow waters, not suitable for maritime traffic. The Adriatics largest mud site is located here. It has been used for medicinal purposes since Roman times. Today, there is a small rehabilitation centre there, which conducts its activities outdoors in the summer months.
Baptismal Font of Prince Vieslav
A baptismal font of Prince Vieslav origins from Nin, the first political seat of Croatia. According to some historians Vieslav was the first Croatian prince who ruled about 800 year. The baptismal font is an important part of the church furniture and testifies about the time of baptizing of Croats. It is a six-sides stone vessel into which by baptizing believing people were dived. The copy of the font is in the Archaeological Collection in Nin and the original is kept in the Museum of Croatian Archaeological Monuments in Split.
Church St. Cross- the Smallest Cathedral in the World
Among the most important preserved monuments of the old Croatian church architecture, of an unique architectural style the church St. Cross from the 9th century ,called «the smallest cathedral in the world» dominates over the area with its position and beauty. It is put into the representative monuments of the early middle ages architecture because of its original form. It is a building of interesting central type with a ground plan in the form of a cross with a lot of irregularity in the ground plan-disposition. All the branches are surmounted by a cupola. The outside wall is decorated by a row of blind niches, three on the front and one on each branch. The cupola has an dominant accent on that building- it is in irregular, oval and elongated form and it is being narrowed on the top. A very significant detail on the church is a stone lintel above the door which is decorated by an interlacing-ribbon pattern and at the lower side there is the carved name of the district-governor Godeèaj. In connection of the exploration of the church it is useful to say that near the church some early middle ages graves were found with relatively little findings which could be dated from the8th till the 15th century. On the explored terrain were found the destroyed parts of antique architecture in dry-wall techniques. . There were also found parts of the material culture of Croats from the 8th century. It is meant that this belongs to the Croats who in the early Middle Ages inhabited the destroyed antique Nin. The church of St. Cross is a building of central type with blind niches and its ground plan is an one- branch Greek cross. Each side of the church has an oval opening. The scientific M. Pejakoviæ explained its dimension and position toward a sun through the whole year depending on winter and summer solstice . Its building was created and had a meaning to serve like o'clock or a calendar. On the stone lintel there is an inscription of the Croatian upan (district governor) Godeèaj, which is still not historically explained.
ST. NICOLAUS CHURCH
Is located on a hill-earthen grave in the field for crowning Prahulje near Nin and represents the most romantic monument of the history of Nin. "According to the people tradition seven kings were crowned in Nin and on the occasion of crowning the crowned ruler would arrive riding with the suite to the church of St. Nicolaus where he introduced himself to the people and made a sign with a sword to the four sides of the world. The church is the only preserved example of the Romanesque architecture with the central ground-plan and the cross-ribbed vault from the end of the 11th and the beginning of the 12 th century.
Novalja | Novalja which is the main Pags summer resort enjoys an ideal position on the intersection of marine and land routes connecting the North Adriatic area of Kvarenr with Dalmatia. Novalja is if known for being surrounded by beautiful beaches Zreæe, Caska, Strako, Babe, Triniæel and Branièevica.
Remains of antique origin can be found in abundance around the town and of particular interest are the three early-Christian basilicas dating from the 4th century. What remains from the mosaics that once adorned one of them now can be seen in the Church of our Lady of the Rosary in the town centre. A number of objects and parts of sacral structures are comprised in the archaeological collection Stomorica situated near the towns Parish Church.
One of the most interesting sits in Novalja is its antique underground water supply, built in the 1st century BC, during Roman times. The town NOVALJA includes the former hamlets Sveti Ante (St. Anthony) and Spital. In the Roman times (the ruins of the Roman aqueduct) there was a town called Cissa (the present hamlet of Caska) in the surroundings of Novalja.
Novalja developed on the site of the ancient settlement Novalia which represented the southern port of the Roman settlement Cissa (today Caska). From the Roman times parts of the aqueduct, several inscriptions and architectural plastic forms have been preserved. In the early Christian times there was a large basilica urbana in the centre of the town, with a semicircular apse and mosaics (remains of architecture, plastic forms, inscriptions). In 1971 two decorated reliquaries were found there: a bronze one from the 4th century and a silver one, from a later period. On the same place the church of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Gothic style was erected, annexed in the Baroque period, which holds the painting of Our Lady with Childfrom the 16th century. The present parish church of St. Catherine was built in 1906.
The historical roots of Novalja go for back into the past, as witnessed to by many archaeological finds, of which the 1st century and a reliquary valuable. From the treasury of culture we would particularly stress the dance called NASKI that is performed in picturesque folk costumes.
Omis | Omis is a picturesque town of true Mediterranean atmosphere situated at the mouth of the Cetina river. It is the town where a famous festival of Dalmatian folk songs and melodies is held annually.
Omis lies in the middle between famous tourist centres Split and Makarska. Its history has been tumultuous since ancient times; in the Middle Ages its unconquerable fortress was the refuge of Omis pirates. Nowadays it is the tourist centre of a 35 km long Riviera of outstanding beauty. Numerous monuments from its past are the witnesses of its history, long and glorious; besides these one can find nowadays an interesting and colourful market place, a large number of small restaurants, coffee shops, bistros, various shops including duty free ones and fashionable boutiques. All these will make your stay pleasant and fulfilled.
Very good communications with the nearby Split and beautiful natural beaches of this part of the Riviera have enabled the development of tourist trade whose traces are to be seen even before the World War II. A number of small fishermen's villages along the Riviera have had a long tourist tradition and culture.
The Cetina river and its magnificent canyon are cut into the picturesque mountainous massif in the very background of the town. On its way to the sea the river has created numerous long sandy beaches which are characteristic of this part of the coast and make it one of the most beautiful, unusual and incomparable.
Opuzen | Opuzen is a small town on the left bank of the Neretva river, 12 km upstream from its mouth. Economy is based on farming, growing and processing of vegetables and fruit (citrus fruit, tangerines, figs, etc.) as well as on fishing in the Neretva, its channels and delta lakes. Opuzen is a frequent excursion destination of tourists on the Adriatic, but is also frequented by sports fishing enthusiasts. Opuzen is the seat of the most valuable part of the Neretva delta from the agrarian point of view. It developed on the spot where the Small Neretva splits from the main flow of the Neretva, 12 km upstream from the mouth. The people of Dubrovnik built the Posrednica fortification on that spot in the Middle Ages so as to protect their merchant interests. On the spot of Posrednica the Croato-Hungarian rulers erected the Ko fortification. After Poèitelj had been taken over by the Turks in 1471 its garrison moved to Ko and was there until Neretva fell in Turkish hands round 1490. There is an even older Brtanik fortification not far from Opuzen, above the place called Podgradina. It was built by the Bosnian king Tvrtko I in 1383. There wasn't a bigger settlement in this area until the year 1715. In that year the Venetians deserted Èitluk and moved their military garrison to the island of Posrednica, where Fort Opus was erected. The present town was named after it. The remains of the mentioned fortifications haven't been preserved until the present day. Opuzen is the oldest administrative, cultural and educational center of the lower Neretva area. In 1798 a public school was opened. The importance that it had was lost in the nineteenth century, because it was away from the important traffic routes and Metkoviæ took the leading role. Its second development happened after the Second World War, when it was at the crossroads of road routes that connect the Adriatic coast with the interior of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The production of citrus fruits, which is concentrated in its vicinity, has contributed to its development in the last decades. Apart from natural beauties chance travellers may be attracted also with Roman sculptures found in Narona, which are situated on the main square in Opuzen in front of the county district building. St. Stephan's church has the dominant position on King Tomislav's square. It was built in 1883 on the spot of an older, shabbier church. The new building has all the elements of the baroque style and is furnished with marble altars from the Biliniæ workshop from Split. The painting by the Italian painter Filip Naldi from 1852, where St Stephen's stoning is shown, is the most valuable thing in there.
Pag | The island of Pag is one of the biggest Adriatic islands: it is the fifth largest island with 284.50 square kilometres. Its 270 kilometres of the indented coastline make it the island with the longest coastline on the Adriatic, rich with coves, bays, beaches and capes.
The biggest bay, the bay of Pag, is rounded by 20 km of the gravel beaches. Pag is unique due to its vegetation where trees are the most rare form. Therefore, Pag is the largest kingdom of rocky ground on the Adriatic, where thin grass, low aromatic herb cover, sage and immortelle grow. They make the foundation of the nourishment of the islands sheep on the rocky ground, intersected by long dry stonewalls, giving a special flavour to the well known cheese of Pag. Pag is the town of the sea salt. The importance of the salt was the main reason that Pag was constructed in the 15th century, according to a plan and as a fortified town. The original salt manufacture by draining of the sea, which is brought in the small clay pools (saline), is still present on the island.
The most interesting cultural and historical place on the island the town of Pag is not the oldest place on the island as well. One kilometre to the south, there are the remains of a settlement (a fortified convent and a church) which preceded todays Pag the Old town of Pag which the king Bela IV granted the status of the Royal Borough, on 30th March 1244. In 1443, the construction of the new town started according to the strict designs of Juraj Dalmatian, Renaissance sculptor and architect. It ended two centuries later. There is the parish Church of the Assumption on the main towns square. This church is a valuable cultural and art monument because of its exterior and interior architectural solutions, as well as the exhibits. The town abounds in beautifully carved doorposts on the entrances of the noblemens houses and yards, small baroque balconies, stone coats of arms from the period 15th - 18th century and a magnificent portal on the Dukes palace. This well-preserved mediaeval town, whose centre is the cultural monument, even today performs the function of the administrative, cultural and mercantile centre. Pag, such as we know, emerged between 1443 and 1474. On 18th May, 1443, having gained the permission of the Venice Senate, the townsmen began the construction fearing of the Turks who had penetrated up to Zadar by then. Before that, Pag had already been relocated two times. From the antique times, up to the end of the 4th century, it existed on a locality known as Caska, (Lat. Kissa, Cissa). Caska was submerged after an earthquake, and the people moved to the south, on a site today known as Stari grad (the Old town). In the 10th century Pag was completely urbanised; it had the city walls, towers, fortresses, squares, churches, monasteries, houses and palaces. The citizens were engaged in trading, fishing, cattle breeding; they were sailors or salt manufacturers. The village of Koljun was used as the towns port.
According to historical documents, the name Pag was mentioned for the first time in the 10th century. In 976, the king Drislav liberated Pag from the Byzantine authority and appointed a Croatian district Prefect as the administrator of the town. Pag has had its good and bad times alike many Mediterranean towns.
In 1192, the Church of St. Marija was built. Even today, it is the dominant structure in Stari grad. One of the most important events in the history of the town is the receiving of the Bull of the king Bela IV that granted Pag the status of the Royal Borough, on 30th March 1244. Afterwards, Pag has experienced a considerable economic growth.
The life in Pag was based on the common law codex. The citizens were longing for their autonomy and were struggling for it by any means. The prominent figure was Belota Dobroniæ, a judge who tried to realize the idea of the legal and economical independence of Pag on the General Croatian Convention in Nin, in 1396.
In 1376, the Croatian king Ludovik I confirmed the existing privileges of the Royal Borough to Pag, and granted it some new ones. In 1403, the king Ladislav sold his share of Dalmatia, Pag included, to Venice and thus sentenced Pag to a centuries-long life under the Venetian rule. In 1433 Pag received the Town Statute, one of the first documents of that sort in Croatia.
In the middle of the 15th century, Turkish threat kept rising and therefore the inhabitants of Pag decided to build a new town. The construction works began on todays location of the town, on 18th May 1443. The urban plans of the new town were developed in Venice respecting the principles of architecture and urbanism of that time. Juraj Dalmatian, a great constructor and sculptor participated in the development of the urban plan. The mighty and powerful walls, fortified by nine towers, were surrounding Pag and were defending it from all kinds of attacks. These circumstances provided peace to the people and prosperity to the town. This is the period of establishing economic contacts between Pag and the other districts. At the same time, many townsmen were studying at the Universities all over the Europe.
In spite the resettling, the citizens of Pag have never forgotten Stari grad. In 1589, the Franciscans built their monastery on that location, whose remains still exist.
On the Feast of the Assumption, people go to Stari grad to say prayers to the miraculous statue of the Mother of God of Stari grad. This miraculous statue is carried in a solemn procession to Pag, to the Church of the Assumption from where it returns to its sanctuary on the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, every 7th September.
For centuries, the city government has been headed by a duke, elected from among dignitaries and appointed by the central government of Venice. The noble families of Pag, like Mioliæ, Zoroviæ, Portada, Jadruliæ and especially Mirkoviæ, have had the important influence on the cultural and economic lives in town. Their palaces were the symbols of power, wealth and general prosperity of the town.
During the Croatian reformation, as the result of building up the national consciousness in Pag, the Croatian Party of Rights and the Croatian Peoples Party were growing stronger. In 1882, the Croatian Peoples Party won the majority of voices at the elections and Nikola Portada was elected the major.
In the late 19th and the early 20th centuries, Pag had 4800 inhabitants. In later years, and especially in 1905, following the emergence of a blight, which had destroyed the vineyards, the number of population started declining. Many inhabitants emigrated, mostly to the USA, Canada and Australia.
In the twenty thirties, the agrarian reform caused the fragmentation of landed properties that led to the weakening of the economic power of nobility and their gradual emigration. The members of the great noble families were immigrating to Italy, South America, some of them to Zagreb, Rijeka and other Croatian towns. Another wave of depopulation took place at the end of the Second World War. In this period, the nobility completely seized to exist. Difficult economic times have lasted for twenty years. The beginning of the twenty sixties was characterised by the rapid development of tourism. Tourism, as a new economic branch, has given a fresh impetus to the general development and therefore Pag expanded outside the old centre of the town. New quarters of the town have developed: Vodice, Blato, Murvica, Varo, Baaca, Boana, Sv. Jelena.
Pakostane | a place situated in the very centre of Dalmatia with an unique position between the sea and the Vrana Lake (Vransko jezero) rich in fish. It has a lot of natural beauties, the old pine wood, various beaches, clean inlets and islands. It is surrounded by the national parks "Kornati","Krka" and "Paklenica".
Peljesac | The Peljesac peninsula covers a large area west of Dubrovnik. Peninsula is connected to the Croatian mainland with small strip of land, so Peljesac is almost an island itself. Peljesac has neat architecture as well as pleasurable scenery. Peljesac is well known for red wines Postup and Dingac, that are grown for hundreds of years in vineyards along south slopes of Peljesac Peninsula. Peljesac has a lot of good beaches, and beach Trstenica, near Orebic and Mokalo is a nice pebble beach that faces breathtaking views of Korcula Archipelago. Orebic, nowadays a famous tourist destination, was known as the maritime centre of the southern Dalmatian peninsula Peljesac, famous for wines and wine growing. It lies on the southern coast of the peninsula that is connected to the mainland by road via Ston and by ferry line Ploce - Trpanj. The whole peninsula, covered with dense evergreen and Mediterranean vegetation, belongs to the warmest places on the Adriatic thanks to the many sunny days. The surroundings are ideal for walks, hiking and gathering of plants, while the wine slopes in the interior are dotted with wine trails and wine cellars where you can taste or buy homemade Peljesac wine and "prosek" - a sweet liquor made from grapes. There is a large sandy beach in the bay of Trstenica, while there are numerous rocky bays with small beaches close to Orebic for those looking for privacy. Orebic is proud of its gastronomic specialties, primarily oysters and mussels bred in the area, as well as its wines Dingac and Postup.
Pirovac | was mentioned for the first time in 1298. when the Bishopric of ibenik was founded. At that locality an inhabited place with Mediterranean characteristics was found in 1505. The features of the stormy and rich history, of the values, both in culture and monuments. Pirovac is situated on the north coast of the Baz of Pirovac , with its beautiful ancient face eternally turned towards the sun. Its baz is a natural phenomenon, 10 km (6 miles) carved deep into stone and Mediterranean vegetation which mixes its fascinating smell with the primordial scents of the sea. Pirovac there are many inlets, sandy beaches and the islet of St. Stephen ( Sustipanac ) situated westwards. The can see the remains of an old monastery and church that were built and given to Franciscans by Petar Draganic a land owner in 1511. The southern part of the by is called Makirina, beach owing its healing mud has become a unique maritime spa. 5 kilometres from village there is lake "Vransko jezero" a wide known fishing resort. Owing to the Adriatic highway, reconstructed in 1997. Pirovac is connected with Sibenik (22km) and Zadar (48km), the most ancient towns on this part of the coast, with numerous monuments.
Pirovac is ideal starting point for unforgettable excursions to the Kornati archipelago and river Krka.
Ploce | the city of Ploce is one of the largest harbours on the Dalmatian coast. Ploce was constructed after World War II on the northern edge of the Neretva Delta, and was intended to provide access to the sea for the then socialist republic of Bosnia-Herzegovina. The name of the town was later changed to Kardeljevo, today, however, it is again called Ploce and is Croatian. From here the ferries start out for Trpanj and the Peljesac Peninsula, and there is a railroad that runs to Mostar and Sarajevo.
Beyond Ploce stretches the Neretva Delta, formed by the confluence of its twelve tributaries. The Neretva originates in the Bosnian mountains and at 218 kilometres is the longest river to empty into the Croatian Adriatic. It is navigable by ships with a limited draft (2.2 meters) as far as the town of Metkovic in Bosnia, after which a marshland begins. This is where the centre of the Narentans was located, a people who controlled the borderlands between the Cetina and Neretva rivers, and who made a name for themselves mainly from piracy.
To the south of the delta is the border with Bosnia-Herzegovina, which has a six-kilometres wide access to the Adriatic. The main town in this narrow section of Bosnia-Herzegovina is Neum, a modern seaside resort. The transfer of goods, however, takes place in Ploce, as this is the only port in the area with suitable capacity. Only four kilometres beyond Neum you are back in Croatia again, in the region of Dubrovnik.
Podgora | Podgora is situated 65 km southeast of Split and 150 km northwest of Dubrovnik on the slopes of the Biokovo Mountain in the middle of the Makarska Riviera. It is embedded in a landscape interspersed with olive trees, pinewood and other Mediterranean vegetation and is ideal place for rest and relaxation.
Today Podgora is a modern touristic destination, with favourable climate, the pebbly beaches and cosy bays with the sea which is relatively warm very early in the year.
Podgora is an attractive see-side resort from the early spring to the late autumn.
Its rarely beautiful landscape, the azure sky and the limpid sea make Podgora the peerless beauty spot of the Adriatic. The national park Biokovo with peak Sv. Jure (1762m) offers possibilities for mountain biking, climbing and walking course. Besides all kinds of water sports as scuba-diving, water-skiing, paragliding, windsurfing, rowing, water polo and swimming you can play tennis, soccer, basketball and mini golf.
Podgora was early inhabited due to its geographical position. It is mentioned for the first time in written documents in 1571. as one of the places under the protection of Venice, after the Turkish defeat in the battle of Lepant. From that period there are remains of a cemetery with a couple of preserved tombstones. Church of St. Tekla is mentioned in 1630.In Gornja Podgora which was inhabited until the great earthquake in 1962. there are numerous remains of the churches, and the most important structure, also damaged in the earthquake, is a large keep on the hill Roscici from the times of Turkish invasions. The keep lost some of its warlike appearance considering it was afterwards redesigned as living quarters.
Other important historical monuments include the church of All Saints, built in 1764. and a chapel of Holy heart of Jesus built in 1804. by the family Mrkusic. During its long past and to the present day, Podgora faced the sea and made its living from the sea, even though, until the second half of 20th century, it was mainly located higher up the mountain. Mountain provided shelter from the danger from the sea, like pirates and raiders and the land is more fertile further from the sea because of the salt in the air and soil. After the great earthquake in 1962. Podgora was completely orients to the sea. Its inhabitants built their houses closer to the sea, rather then reconstructing old ones in Gornja Podgora. Construction of Adriatic Road and the tourist development also contributed.
Postira | is a small town on island Brac, near the city of Split. is only 10 km from Supetar, the centre and ferry port of the island. If you want to get out of daily rush this is the right place to be. Chief occupations include farming, stone-masonry and fishing; a fish cannery. Postira is located on the regional road Postira is ideal place for holidays that has offers for everyone. Heartiness and hospitality of hosts, directness of fishermans and farm labourers, melancholy peace of little streets and closeness of the sea stay in long memory. At many beaches the ones with most characteristic shallows are Prvlja and Lovrecina with sand beach Postira was first mentioned in 1347 under the name Postrena. The parish church, built in the 16th century, was later reconstructed; the only remains of the original structure include an apse in the shape of a fort. The church features the Way of the Cross, a work by three painters from the 18th century, as well as several paintings by the Venetian Baroque school. Among residential structures, a very interesting building is the birth-house of the poet Vladimir Nazor (1876-1949), with the Renaissance gable and inscriptions. East of Postira, in the cove of Lovrecina, are the ruins of a large early Christian basilica from the 5th century; two early Christian sarcophagi and fragments of Roman plastics have been found next to it.
Primosten | Together with Vodice and Murter, Primosten is certainly the most attractive tourist place of the region. It is just 28km far from Sibenik by the Adriatic tourist road. In the past Primosten was situated on the island close to the mainland. During the Turkish invasions in 1542 the island was protected by the walls and towers and draw bridge connected it to the mainland. When the Turks retreated, the draw bridge was replaced by the causeway and in 1564 the settlement was named Primosten after the Croatian verb primostiti (to span).Built on the hill it is dominated by the parish church of St.George built in 1485 and restored in 1760 close to which there is local graveyard from which a unique view spreads to the sea and the surroundings. The church of Our Lady of Compassion built in 1553 is worth mentioning as well as the little church of St.Rock's built in 1680.
Traditional jobs in agriculture and fishing are still the main occupation of the inhabitants but the tourism has become a tradition already because of natural characteristics of Primosten like: the unique Mediterranean atmosphere created by the closely built stone houses in numerous narrow streets, crystal clear sea, crickets singing, shady pine forests and the beaches fully equipped for pleasure and enjoyment.
On the south side of Primosten at the foot of the Kremik hill in a hidden cove, there is a naturist beach. The small harbour offers safety to numerous yachtsmen who sail across the Adriatic. Going towards south, you will find excellent marina situated in a deep bay, protected from all the winds and surrounded by the vineyards that look like stone honey-comb.
In a deep bay, hidden from a sea waves and opened sea, is placed a little fishermens village Rogoznica. Thanks of a good position (34 km south from ibenik and also so far from airport Split), with a lots of historical monuments, and fascinating beauty of nature, Rogoznica was always considered one of potential tourist bathing resorts of highest category. The island of Rogoznica is placed in Dalmatia, the southern part of Croatia known as the most beautiful zone of the Country. The Dalmatian coast, as a matter of fact, is a succeeding of hidden bays, gorgeous islands, luxuriant woods, gulfs, secret beaches, delightful towns and typical villages of fishermen, as well Rogoznica. The island has an efficient harbour and it is easily achievable thanks to its connection to the mainland, and between the other natural attraction there is also a little salt lake called "Dragon's eye". Covered by a thick pinewood that comes down to the sea, 30 km far away from the falls of the National Park Krka, the island is a real paradise for nature and sea lovers, while the close cities Sibenik ( with its well organized berthing for private ships, the three fortresses of the Venetian period, the ex-Episcopal palace, the fifteenth century palace of Dukes and the dome of St. Jacob of the Renaissance), and Trogir, town rich of mediaeval suggestions dominated by its bells towers offers various possibility of trips along the coast. First inhabitants for its dwelling chose in 1390. a land part of todays Rogoznica, Kopaèa. And near island, Kopara, on which inhabitants searched shelter from Turks, is colonized in 1518. When there was no any more danger from Turks, island is connected with a land part. On island is in 1809. during French rule, built fortress. Old church St. John of Tragurion, from 1324. on near horn Ploèa, is telling us that this area was visited and before first inhabitants came there. Contribution to this give us also a chapel of St. Nicholas in a cage Loznica where on a graveyard are discovered a few ledgers (steèci). Rogoznica today is a typical Mediterranean village whose population are around 800. People mostly work in tourism, on a land or on hookers. Thanks to preserved atmosphere of typical quiet little place, Rogoznica to its inhabitants and visitors offers peace and rest in front of all, completely different from a modern life. That little place will hug you as a old friend and after just few days youll feel as a part of local people, saying hello to fishermans watching them leaving and coming back in to a harbour, or toasting to some known face looking for a short rest under palm leafs. Moments of pleasure on some of natural beaches, soon will take you out of tensions, which gave you an idea to search a rest under a hot Mediterranean sun.
Salona | Salona , Latin Salonae, ancient city of Dalmatia, 5 km North East of modern Split. The origin of the Croatian name Solin is in latinized name Salona, having root in the Illyirian language. In the history this name is first mentioned in the year 119 B.C. during the war between Illyrs and Romans. The time of foundation of this settlement is certainly much earlier. According to old Greek geographer Strabon Salona was the harbour of the Illyrian tribe Dalmati who probably were trading with the Greek seamen. The remains of the walls, objects of the Greek origin found in Salona and its neighbourhood revered to the Greeks as the founders of the town. Some writers take a possible time of foundation the 4th century before Christ. It is obviously that very early Salona had a strong Greek influence and for that first period of time it could be said that it was Greek-Illyrian settlement. In the 1st century B.C. Salona was conquisted by the Romans. In the civil war between Caesar and Pompey the inhabitants joined the Caesar's side and since he has won the town became a Roman colony with the honourable title 'Colonia Martia Julia Salona'. The town extended from the east to the west getting two new parts: besides the Greek-Illyrian older one, it got new Roman one both to the west and east. Thus from that time the writers used the plural form for the name of Solin - Salona.
When Illyric has been arranged as the Roman province, Salona became the cultural, political, commercial and for certain period of time the military centre as well. In further centuries it is the ecclesiastical centre in these sides. In the first centuries A.C. many eastern immigrated in, among them also heralds of the Gospel, establishing in Salona the Christian Municipality. Under the rule of Diocletian it had numerous martyrs. The fact that Emperor Diocletian was born in Salona or in its neighbourhood and that in the closeness he built the famous palace, arise the reputation of this however important centre. The last three centuries of the ancient Salona are specific regarding to the development of the Christian community in the town and its influence to the whole province.
Salona's Bishop became the Metropolitan of the whole province of Dalmatia. That was the time of progressive invasions of the barbarians, some of them like the Eastern Goths by the end of the 5th century came to these sides. While under their stroke declined the Western Roman Empire, Salona enough far away from the main ways of their penetrations, has lived for 130 years more and became refuge for some of the last Western Roman emperors. The town was destroyed by the Avars and Slavens in the year 614. The inhabitants flew before the furry of the Avars and took shelter on the neighbouring islands and in the Diocletian Palace making it soon a new town - Split.
Up to the present time old Solin remains in ruins, only a part of it is investigated, although this unveiled parts prove the size and importance of the city. The longest line reached about 1600 metres and widest one about 700 metres. The area surrounded with walls amounts 72 hectares. In the 2nd century A.C, in the course of the Great Migration?s danger the new part of the town was surrounded with walls and fortified with towers, in the same way as the previous nucleus had been. From that time measure of the walls reaches about 4 kilometres and number of the towers up to 90. In the 6th century during the Byzantine-Gothic wars, some towers were reinforced and got the triangular ends visible even today.
At the northwest end of Salona's town limits, subsequently fortified, there is an amphitheatre, which forms part of the town defence system. Its remains are comparatively well-preserved (much worse than the one in Pula, though), showing the benefits of the well known reconstruction made by the Danish archaeologist Ejnar Dyggve. The first excavations, made in the end of the 1840s, were initiated by F. Carrara, who was also responsible for the first and very systematic archaeological research of this town and its archaeological research. In 1850 he published a book on the Salonitan topography and excavations undertaken earlier, which is still very valuable and useful. Excavations of the amphitheatre were continued until much later: before and during the First World War (F. Buliæ), and again in 1929 as part of studies of this edifice performed for the purpose of a comprehensive monograph published in 1932 (E. Dyggve). Finally, in the beginning of the 1980s, it was studied by F. Oreb within a conservation works campaign. Dyggve considers that the amphitheatre was designed by Roman architects who performed similar tasks elsewhere too, and that it was built in the second half of the second century A.D. Today, we can see only the lower parts of its large walls, largely reconstructed in the 1950s. During the Venetian it was intentionally damaged to prevent it from being used by the Turkish units during their war with Venice in the 16th and the 17th centuries. After that, it was used as a quarry from where stone for house building was being taken, like in many other places.
It is believed that it could have accommodated about fifteen thousand, or even more, spectators. In order to enable fast entrance to and evacuation from the auditorium, a double system of communications was designed: radial, as related to the building ellipse, and circular, as related to the levels of the seat rows. Such a system is quite often at large sports' stadiums of today. Because of its location along the northern and, partly, the western town walls. Its main entrances must have been in the south and the east walls, which is a deviation from the system comprising two entrances in the east - west longitudinal axis. On its northern side, it stood on elevated soil, some of the walls built on marl (still visible) having therefore no foundations, unlike the other sides. On the southern side, and also on parts of the western and eastern sides, it had three floors: two with arcades and the third with rectangular windows.
In the vicinity of the amphitheatre, to its south, there was a cemetery for gladiators killed in the arena. From their epitaphs, we learn their names, origins, homelands and fighting specialities.
Salona's main ecclesiastical centre was created next to the first Christian oratorium that was located in a private house, in the so-called domus ecclesiae . It was in an area surrounded on the western side by town walls, in the east by a street leading to the small gates in the north town walls, and on the southern side by the street passing through the old town gate known as Porta Caesarea. In the remains of the private house next to the town walls, the oratorium hall with its semicircular apse is visible, complete with a stone bench for the priests and the altar-screen base. This is believed to have been the first Christian oratorium, called Oratorium A by Dyggve. In its vicinity, to the south, there was another one, that Dyggve called Oratorium B. Buliæ, too, considered this was where the Christian community was meeting at the time of Domnio, the first Salonitan bishop. To the west, there was a door and before it there was a small atrium with a fountain (the thermal and water installations were in the vicinity). Later on, Gabrièeviæ differed in his opinion that the oratorium was built at the time of Venancius, probably the first Christian community in the locality at the beginning of the second half of the third century.
After the Edict of Milan in 313 , the Christian community was granted legality of public worship and the building of a large religious complex, extending to several layers, was started in Salona in the years to come. The building works took several centuries to complete. All the structures required by a Christian community for religious service were erected: firstly one and then another large church, baptistery, the bishop's residence, atrium and ante-rooms. The main approach to the complex was from the south, through a monumental entrance with four columns. From there, one entered the narthex, the common antechamber on the eastern side of both in parallel to the basilicas. The old pavement and stairs approaching the baptisteries complex on the northern side of the narthex are well preserved, too.
The northern church, called by Buliæ the town basilica (Basilica urbana), believing this was the Salona's main, bishopric, church, is a basilica with a nave, two aisles and a large semicircular apse with priest benches along its wall. Construction was commenced by the bishop Simpherius in the fourth century, and ended by his successor, bishop Exigius, cum clero et populo (with clergy and people), as described on a preserved mosaic fragment. The church was dedicated to Christ. Just like other contemporary churches, it was rebuilt several times, especially in the fifth century.
To the south and next to this church, there had been another basilical church, above which a large cruciform church was built at the time of the bishop Honorius II (died 547), in the first half of the sixth century. This bishop is known from documents as the convenor of the ecclesiastical assemblies of Salona in 530 and 533, very important for establishing the ecclesiastical power in Dalmatia.
ST. MARY'S CHURCH AT GOSPIN OTOK;
In the very centre of Salona, on a river islet (Gospin otok - Our Lady's Islet) in the delta of Salona's river Salon, now known as the Jadro, next to the parish church of St. Mary, Our Lady of the Islet (Sv. Marija, Gospa od Otoka), there is an exceptionally valuable archaeological site, now totally covered with earth. The present parish church was built in 1880. To its south there is a grassy area where thousands of believers attended the mass on the occasion of the visit of Pope John Paul II, in 1998.
ST. STEPHEN'S CHURCH AT GOSPIN OTOK;
To the north of the present St. Mary's Church, under the earth, there are remains of a church with a nave and two aisles dedicated to St. Stephen (Sv. Stjepan). It was built on top of Roman remains, which is a rule in Salona, on a river islet. It should be kept in mind here that the river flowed in a completely different in Roman times, through the town centre , this being evidenced by the remains of the so-called uplja crkva (Hollow Church) , then the largest old-Christian basilica of Salona, now in the river bed, but not at the time of building the church.
The old-Christian church on Gospin otok and the Queen Helena's sarcophagus with its famous inscription were found, as it often happens, co-incidentally. After the old church on the islet was destroyed in the fire of 1875, the new, present, church was built in its present location in 1880. When the foundations for the new bell tower were dug in 1898, remains of older walls were excavated. The finds attracted attention of the then director of the Split Archaeological Museum, rev. Frane Buliæ, who found them worth excavating. Soon, in the church's atrium, they found fragments of an inscription, one of them reading HEL. Buliæ concluded they were fragments of the front side of a sarcophagus, all covered with an inscription. As the respected expert, he recalled the History of Salona by the Split chronicler, archdeacon Toma where it was stated that the honourable man Dimitrije, also known as Zvonimir, the King of the Croats, resituated to Sv. Dujam's (St. Domnio's) Church (i.e., to the Archbishopric of Split) the churches of St. Stephan and St. Mary with all their properties. These churches were built and donated by the Queen Helena, giving them to the Church of Split to hold them forever. Because of the adoration of some royal graves, they were temporarily given to some friars who celebrated masses in them. In St. Stephan Church's atrium, there was buried the honourable man, King Kreimir, with many other kings and queens.
The detailed research carried out in 1972 next to and within the present church, as well as the above quoted text, cleared some doubts, and it may be well reasonably concluded that on the Islet there was one church, dedicated to St. Stephen, and not two, as it was believed. Namely, above the Roman remains, a three-aisled church was built in the 10th century, in the atrium in which they found the broken sarcophagus with the queen's epitaph. The church certainly existed at the chronicler Toma's time, since he described it in detail, confirming there were royal graves in the atrium. The church is also mentioned in later centuries documents, so it may be concluded that it must have fallen into ruins, neglected, and destroyed at the time of the wars against the Turks in the 16th and the 17th centuries.
The new inhabitants of Solin, colonised by the Venetian authorities after conquering Klis , did not reconstruct St. Stephen's Church but, next to its ruins, built a new one at the beginning of the second half of the 17th century. The church was to be destroyed in a fire in 1875. According to L. Katiæ, it was built before 1670, since the first baptism in the church on Islet was recorded in the church books on the Mary's Nativity Day of that year. St. Stephen's Church is depicted in the watercolours by P. Zeèeviæ (1807-1876), according to new research made by A. Duplanèiæ. We consider however, that the humble building, as depicted in Zeèeviæ's watercolour, that it was a church similar in appearance and size to the many churches built throughout Dalmatia in the Baroque.The church of Our Lady of the Islet was mentioned in many documents dated in the 12th, 13th, 14th and subsequent centuries. Before the church, it was understood that certificates were issued and agreements were made, yet from none of these documents can it be determined which building of Solin this was. Therefore, this locality is still a subject of scientific disputes. We have presented our opinion.
Among the remains of the Solin buildings, of particular interest is the complex known as Gradina (Hill-Fort), next to the very river and the Roman town's eastern walls. A church of an unusual ground plan, built over the Roman poque remains, is today situated within a medieval fortress. This was built, according to some authors (F. Buliæ and Lj. Karaman), by the Split archbishop Ugolino de Mala Branca (1349-1388) to protect the people of Split from the people of Klis. Today, it is in a fortress built during the Venetian-Turkish wars, in the 16th century . It was researched in 1909-1911 and again in 1923-1925, its ground plan and volume have recently been presented in drawings by J. Marasoviæ, which is a convincing reconstruction. The church was for the first time correctly dated to the time of the Byzantine emperor Justinian (527-567) by M. Prelog, some fifty years ago.
Accepting this as a correct attribution, we hold that the church was dedicated to the Virgin Mary who, as confirmed by documentary evidence, was celebrated in Salona in the beginning of the 6th century, and the church at Gradina is from exactly that period. In the 10th and the 11th centuries it was repaired and reconstructed, keeping its original dedication. The ancient tradition of the adoration of Virgin Mary in Salona-Solin is still preserved, and the tradition can be suggested to have been in the following sequence. When, namely, adoration of royal graves in St. Stephen's Church at Gospin Otok was neglected and forgotten in later, the church at Gradina was abandoned and ruined, or the Ugolino's fortification built around it, adoration of the Virgin Mary was moved to the islet. St. Stephen's Church then became the Solin parish church. It is certain that the church at Gradina was not functioning by the 16th century. Having in mind the old-Christian tradition of adoration of the Virgin Mary in Salona, the Virgin Mary's sanctuary now known as Our Lady of the Islet (Gospa od Otoka) in Solin is undoubtedly the oldest church in Croatia. It is worth mentioning the tradition of trade fairs, along with religious celebrations, on the Mary's Nativity Day in Solin since ancient times this was of great importance for the economy of a large area both along the coast and into the hinterlands which stretched all the way to Bosnia in the past. At the trade fairs, they exchanged products of town handicrafts and rural industries. Today, the trade fair has no such importance, yet it is an attractive local and religious tradition. The trade fair tradition in Solin was interrupted by the Venetian authorities several times, in 1743, for instance, because of the plague that appeared in the far away Sarajevo.
In line with the ancient Roman customs and traditions, in towns, besides the private baths, situated in luxurious private homes and villas, there were also several public thermal - baths. The best preserved Salonitan thermal are in the so-called Peter's Street, to the east of the town basilicas, i.e. the Christian Episcopal cemetery complex . This street was in the eastern, new part of the town, leading northward, to the town's secondary gate. This area was excavated at the beginning of the twentieth century by F. Buliæ and subsequently by W. Gerber.
These thermal are of somewhat smaller dimensions, yet they contain all the ambiance and rooms characteristic of Roman baths. These are an open peri style, with a large pool, dressing rooms, cold- and hot-water swimming pools and other auxiliary rooms. Several indicators (sequence of constructing and inscriptions were taken from other places and built into the thermal structures) lead to the conclusion that the baths were built in the end of the second or the beginning of the third century, above remains of a private building rebuilt to serve the new purpose. Like other buildings in Salona, the thermal were rebuilt several times, but the initial layout is still quite evident.
In the late Roman, when Christian ideals got more established, public life and frequenting thermal was avoided and thermal lost their initial purpose: walls were partly painted white, and on the large columns there were cut crosses, symbols of the new ideology. Since water installations were required for both the thermal and the baptistery, some archaeologists (E. Dyggve, S. Piploviæ) deem that the thermal could have been turned into baptisteries at those early Christian times. Still, it appears impossible. Only fifty metres to the west there is an entire cathedral complex with baptistery, just about fifty metres away - unnecessary.
The town's elliptic core was surrounded by walls built over several centuries. They are quite well preserved on the northern side, where there are about a hundred square towers. The walls extend from the amphitheatre to the town north-eastern gate, by which the road led into the hinterland, firstly to Klis, and then by one branch to Andetrium and by the other to Osinium (Sinj) and further on to the Cetina, Tilurium and deep into the Balkans. The oldest wall remains, probably date from the Roman Republic times, were built in large stone blocks (megalithic walls, often from the Hellenistic and early Roman times). These are situated in the centre of the town, at their eastern end there is preserved the somewhat later town gate known as Porta Caesarea . This was built in the first century A.D. It is hard to say when the first fortifications were built, they were probably intended to protect the trapezoidal town, where the Roman consul Cecilius Metel wintered in 119-118 while fighting here against the Illyrians. At the time of August's peace, after conquering the Delmats and other Illyrian tribes, Salona started spreading out from its old, original town core, both westward and eastward. The eastern, monumental town gate thus remained right in the town centre, losing its original purpose, like the gate in the western walls of which no remains have been preserved. In the fourth century, above the eastern gate, a decorative keystone was built in, showing the goddess Tycha .
The town spread without an overall plan, using vacant areas to the north and the south of the road that, like the Salon, passing through the eastern part of the town, influenced the urban topography and building of public and private buildings. In the beginning, up until the time of Marcus Aurelius and the dangers created by invasions of the Marcomanns and the Quadis, these parts of the town were not fortified.
Initially, and probably for a long time later, the town's protection was improved by the natural relief of the land that gradually descends from Mount Kozjak's slopes towards the coast, forming several hills and valleys that made defence easier. The soil eroded over the centuries from the mountain and levelled the land with the wall crest in many places, today this is used as a path along the town perimeter.
The same happened south of Manastirine, and is still visible on the way from Tusculum in a southerly direction, down the cypress-lined walk, where partly excavated walls with square and pentagonal towers can be seen. The towers are believed to have been added in the sixth century, at the time of the war between the Ostrogoths and the imperial army that was fought here. Having taken Salona, the emperor's general Constantinian repaired and improved fortifications fearing attacks of the Gothic army that withdrew into the continent, towards Burnum, Aseria (Benkovac), Scardona and Skradin.
The largest part of the earliest walls that protected the eastern part of the town were erected in about 170, this being certified by two inscriptions cut into a stone slab and built into the outer, northern, side of the walls, near the Porta Andetria. The two complete and valuable inscriptions say that a Delmatian cohort (cohors secunda Delmatarum), commanded by the tribune Granius Fortunatus, built 800 (Roman) feet and the 2nd and the 3rd sections of the legion, supervised by the centurion Publius Elius Aminitianus, 200 feet of walls and several towers in the north part of the town. One lost inscription read that, at the same time, the first Delmatian cohort erected 800 feet of wall and one tower. That would be equal to about 430 metres of walls in total.
At the same time, the western part of the town, the Dyggve's Urbs occidentalis, also, was probably surrounded with walls that the amphitheatre was made a part of.
Thus Salona got a roughly elliptical shape, of axes of about 1600 and 700 metres, and about 500 hectares in area. After this, during the third and the fourth centuries, defence was no particular issue in the town since there was no significant danger. It seems that some larger works were performed at the time of the emperor Teodosius I (379-395), whereas the above-mentioned works, from the times of the Byzantine-Gothic wars, are certain.
Within the ellipse, the majority of the Salonitan monuments are situated there, outside it there were pagan and Christian cemeteries, the latter with cemetery churches. Of course, on the large area of the Roman land plotting (colony centuriation; <) both westward and eastward, to the present Trogir, Split and Stobreè, there were residential and industrial buildings, cemeteries, industrial installations, etc., confirmed by discoveries appearing at almost every present-day construction works.
Among many historical and archaeological sites in the wider Salonitan area, closely connected with Salona - Solin, of particular importance is the castrum fortress of Klis, deserving, therefore, more attention in this book as well. This "hard town" built on rock, above the mountain pass where the ancient road led from the coast into the hinterland, on a high mountain face (330 m above the sea level), between the mountains of Kozjak and Mosor, it was created over a millennium, to get most of its final appearance in the 17th century, after the Venetian-Turkish wars.
The site was undoubtedly of importance in the proto historic era as well, to keep this importance under different circumstances, and remained undisturbed until as late as the Second World War when the defence of Split was organised there, just like the defence of Salona a long time before that. The oldest, prehistoric, signs of life here are archaeological finds from caves and shelters (e.g. Krèine near Mihoviloviæi, now next to the road to Sinj, Kapina near Kuèine). The presence of the Illyric tribe of Delmats being evidenced by hill-forts on elevations (iina glavica, Gradina at Kosa, Ozrina, Markezina greda, etc.; <). At that time, the first century B. C., there must have been a stronghold at the site of the present fortress, too, controlling everything that was going on in the Salonitan area, even the sea in front of it, as far as to the islands of olta and Braè. In the wider Klis area, there are valuable and interesting discoveries from the Roman poque, as well: sanctuaries and reliefs of the shepherds' god Silvan, cut into the mountain rock, remains of agricultural complexes, objects of everyday use (vessels, tools and accessories, jewellery, coins, etc.).
There are valuable historic records on Klis, written by the Greek historian Procopius (6th century), the Byzantine emperor Constantine Porphirogenitus (10th century), the historian and deacon of Split, Toma (13th century, <). Procopius, in his book The Gothic War described fights between the Goths and the imperial army mentioning that there was also a fortification near Salona which was undoubtedly Klis. Porphirogenitus in his work On Ruling the Empire, when describing the conquest of Salona, mentions Klis explicitly, whereas Toma does that in many chapters of his History of Salona. From the subsequent centuries, there are many documents contributing to a better insight of Klis and its history.
No traces have been found of the oldest fortification, the one from the pro historic, Roman and Byzantine , this was probably situated at the top of the rock. Subsequent buildings on such a small and narrow space on top of the rock have totally destroyed all previous traces. Another important factor in this destruction was played by changes in military techniques and war practices. Those changes were in line with both the demands of the Klis masters and military rules brought about by the new ideas in the advanced Middle Ages, especially the gradual development of artillery. An altar-screen pilaster, decorated with a cross typical of the 5th and the 6th centuries, was built into later walls. It is considered that it was not brought from somewhere else, but that it had belonged to a local church of that time. These churches being built within many fortresses constructed by the imperial army in the 6th century all along the eastern Adriatic coast and islands.
This first fortress, indirectly described by Procopius and Constantine, was a strongly guarded place it was most probably used by the Croatian prince Trpimir (about 845-865), who built a monastery and rebuilt an old-Christian church in the historic part of Riinice in the present Rupotine. In the church, there was an altar screen bearing an inscription with the prince's name and title: ...pro duce Trepimero... among some other words on fragments of a larger dedicating inscription. Klis was the seat of the medieval Croatian county of Pomorje that extended behind Split and Trogir.
The successive fortress structures created consecutive layers one above another, gradually took more and more space on the western part of the rock; the previous foundations being left under the subsequent ones, up until the Austrian era. Many features have kept their traditional names; either after their Venetian builders or after the functions they had in the then defence system. These are, for instance, bulwark Foscolo, position Avanzato, Mezzo, Scala, Bembo, Malipiero, Madonna, Oprah kula (Oprah tower), barutana (powder-store), zgrada kneza (prince's house) etc.
In the 13th century, the fortress and the town below it were named the Municipality of Klis (Communitas Clissae), with a proper local administration, judge, notary and seal. At the time of the Hungarian and Croatian kings (12th-15th centuries) and the first decades of the Venetian administration in Dalmatia, Klis was for most of the time ruled by Croatian feudalists. Holding a fortress on a road yielded significant incomes, and the nobility was ready to fight each other over control of such a valuable possession. Among the first were the ubiæi, masters of the fortress even before the years (1242) when the Hungarian king Bela IV fled before the Tatars to Dalmatia and specifically to Klis and then to Split and Trogir . In the centuries to come, this feudal family ruled a large area along the sea coast and in the hinterlands, bringing to these parts the spirit of the contemporary European culture. Namely, Klis was one of the seats of this powerful and highly esteemed family.
Nothing except some indications have been preserved of the oldest defence structures and fortifications of Klis. From the Turkish time, there is the mosque, now called St. Vid's Church. Most of the present structural remains are from the Venetian and the Austrian times. Much of the earlier architectural styles can be recognised in drawings made by military engineers and cartographers, for instance, in the drawings by G. Santini made in 1668, shortly after the Venetian takeover of Klis.
Sibernik | see link citys Sibenik
Sinj | Located 34 kilometres from Split, in antiquity it was called Setovia. Following the road inland from Split, past the ancient fortress of Klis and across a stony desert, the traveller suddenly comes upon the broad valley of Sinj, a patchwork quilt of fields and pastures, stitched together with rows of willows and poplars. In the distance, barely visible in the summer haze, winds the thread of the Cetina River. This gentle landscape is a welcome relief to the rocky desolation of inland Dalmatia. In the northwest corner of this green sea, in the shadow of Mt. Visoka and at the foot of an old fort, lies the town of Sinj, an attractive verdant setting difficult to imagine as the site of fierce combat and great suffering. Sinj is the place of pilgrimage to Our Lady. Every year thousands of people from all parts of Croatia and further come to Our Lady and have left spiritually strengthened and renewed.
Every first Sunday in the month of August, unless otherwise determined, the procession of the Alkari ("tilters", the contenders) and their squires emerges in the upper part of the tournament field in the overwhelming splendour of their ancient arms and uniforms. A brass orchestra playing a traditional patriotic march accompanies their entrance. Grandstands on either side of the course usually seat around 15000 spectators arriving from everywhere. This multitude, surging through the streets on their way to the tournament venue, turns the town into a veritable small-scale Babel, where all of the world's important languages can be heard. Past and present stand facing each other. Mutton and lamb are roasted on all sides; the tables are laden with smoked ham and cheese.
When around 15:00 the Alkari appear in a procession, a deep silence descends on the crowd, as if everyone were possessed by some primeval call of the past. This only lasts for a short while, and then a sudden outburst of applause and shouting is heard, merry laughter and whistles. The company of squires, clad in the traditional costume of the region, steps uniformly and with a dignified air to the beat of the march. These vigorous men, often sporting a moustache but some of them still beardless, look neither left nor right, carrying over their shoulders long flintlock guns and, tucked away into their richly ornamented waistband referred to as "the serpent's nest"), an array of pistols and daggers.
Behind them ride the splendidly outfitted Alkari, followed by the Alajcau, the only one wearing a short dolman. They are all dressed in venerable aristocratic attires, with caps sable flaunting the white feather of a heron or of a crane. The horses prance friskily, their hooves digging into the sand. The sand is brought to the tournament field every year and watered, so that no dust is raised as the horses gallop along the course. The Alka tournament is a unique jousting tournament in today's Europe. It takes place every month of August in Sinj, a small town in continental Dalmatia, some 40 km north of Split. It commemorates the 1715 victory over the Turks.
Proud and jewel of Sinj and Cetina district is Miracle Painting of Bless Virgin Mary of Mercy. This portrait is one of the most beautiful painting in Christian art. There are many Mary royal towns in catholic world. In Croatia there are: Olovo, Marija Bistrica, Trsat i Sinj. In these towns the Queen of heaven and earth is set throne of her goodness, love and charity. The Sinj sanctuary is famous all around the world where are Croats. Numerous pilgrims come to receive Marija´s mercy. The experts suppose that painting was painted by unknown Venetian artist in 16th century. In the beginning it was in Sinj. In 1536 Sinj fell in Turkish hands and the painting was removed in Rama (Bosnia) where it was left till 1687. The miracle power of painting was found out during that period when painting was in Rama. The Turks were raiding in Bosnia. They burned houses, monasteries and devastated everything. Because of the dangerousness Franciscans were running away from Rama. They took with them miraculous painting which was theirs consolation, defence and help. Finally in 1687, the painting came in Sinj and stays there till today. Special respect of this painting begins in the most difficult period of Croatian history, in times of fighting against the Turks. Croatian people were defenders of west civilization and Christianity during several centuries,
The borders were never peaceful. On August 7th, 1715 the Turks has been started to attack Sinj. The Turkish army under leader of Mehmed Pasa were numerous and better armed than Sinj brave defenders. The battle was finished on August 15, 1715 and brave heroes of Cetina district finally beat tremendous Turkish military. Defenders of Sinj were convinced that Our Lady Mary (Miracle Painting from the Sinj church) give them strength for glorious victory. Also, Turkish army was significant weakened by difficult disease which was raging among them. All were convinced that is also Gods deed. Also, it is said the Turks saw the women in light and were terrible frighten. Thats why in town of Sinj, the holiday of Great Lady Mary (VELIKA GOSPA) on August 15, is always specially respected and celebrated. Special pride in their achievement was taken by the surviving defenders who in commemoration of their victory instituted the ALKA tournament, as it is said before. As a sign of thanksgiving, the military officers of Sinj army have the gold crown with cross made to ornament the Miracle Painting. In 1716 the archbishop of Split, Kupili crowned the Miracle Painting. The Bless Virgin Mary has been helping to her pilgrims so far, not only in general, common needs of town and Cetina district (during war, against plague, drought, earthquake), but also in different specific individual needs. There are so many cases when people have experienced the help of Madonna of Sinj (Sinjske Gospe). Many people were miracllous healed from different diseases. The people from Sinj and Cetina district as a sign of gratitude and love gave a wreath of 12 silver stars to their patroness. Every year on 2nd July that wreath is set on alter of Holly Mother and it is served solemn mass of thanks. Pilgrims give the most precious presents to their patroness and from these presents is ornamented the Miracle Painting of Bless Virgin Mary.
Stari Grad | Stari Grad (Faros) is historical heart of the island Hvar, ancient Pharos. It was built on the place where the deep bay passes into rich island fields, Arcadian valley whit vineyards and olive-groves. The town is surrounded with pine tree forest and cooled with summer breeze (mistral). In the hot summer days it is one of the rare Dalmatian places where the air is fresh and the sleep refreshing. Stari Grad is situated in the centre of the island and it is an ideal place to start long walks and trips around the sunny island field with the sweet smell of herbs and flowers. A thousand years long history of the Town has left many monuments in the urban structure of the Town. The Town Walls of Pharos were built by the Greek colonizers in 4th century BC, Roman mosaics, the Church of St. John from the Early Christian period, the complex of streets built in the Middle Ages and above all Tvrdalj - the Renaissance fortified castle with the fish-pond and Petar Hektoroviæ's park (the poet of Ribanje i ribarsko prigovaranje - "Fishing and Fishermen's Narrations") are signposts through a millennium long life of the Town. A walk through the Stari Grad centre, narrow streets and small squares brings the whisperings of the past times.
The hotel complex Helios with high class hotels and bungalows possesses heir own sport grounds and beaches. There are also comfortable private accommodations, taverns and restaurants with healthy home-made food and traditionally good island wines. All gives an opportunity for unforgettable holidays.
In Stari Grad there are famous cultural institutions and associations, some of witch have a century long tradition. The oldest association is Croatian Town Music, a society gathering local music enthusiasts, founded in 1876. Conductor of the orchestra is Luki Gamulin, and president of society is Dinko epiæ.
The parish church in Stari Grad, with its characteristic horizontal cornices, the central door way and a semicircular gable, together with its three-aisled interior with ceiling in late-Gothic style is the work of the local stonemason's workshops. Ivan Pomeniæ from Korèula constructed the main altar in 1637. He was the premier master until the middle of the century. Undoubtedly, the triptych by Francesco da Santacrose is the most beautiful artefact in the interior of the church. Franjo karpa, during the 18th century, began the building of a separate bell-tower.The fortified Dominican Monastery of St Peter the Martyr was founded in 1481, but was badly damaged during an attack by the Algerian pirate Uluz Ali in 1571. The defensive walls on the east and west sides of the monastery were erected immediately after that event. The tomb of the poet Petar Hektoroviæ was once held in the church, together with the chapel of his family (built according to a contract dated 1546). The poet ordered from Jacopo Tintoretto a painting depicting the Mourning of Christ to put in the chapel.
Local tradition says that Petar had his own portrait painted in the figure of Nicodemus, in the company of his only daughter and her husband. It is now exhibited in the Monastery Museum. This also houses various Greek inscriptions and Roman relieves, local objects of ethnographic value and a collection of various liturgical songs and chants from the 14th to the 16th centuries, including the oldest composition in the Croatian language "Let Us Bless Our Lord". The church was completely renovated at the end of the 19th century and it houses paintings by Palma the Vounger, Baldassare D'Anna, and probably the most beautiful crucifix on the Croatian coast by Giacomo Piazetta from 1703.
The following small churches are of interest: the church of St Nicholas on the way to the cemetery with a few votive paintings presented by seamen, the church of St Jerome, next to the town swimming centre, a part of the previous Glagolitic hospice, and the church of St Rocco with an inscription on its steps saying that there are Roman thermal below. It is situated to the east of Hektoroviæ's Tvrdalj. The best-known building in Stari Grad is The Tvrdalj, the fortified building of the poet Petar Hektoroviæ.dating from the first half of the 16th century. It was renovated in the Baroque style in the 18th C. and partly restored in the 19th C. Hektoroviæ's Tvrdalj is an exceptional work of architecture which differs from similar buildings of his time, as does his long poem Ribanje i ribarsko prigovaranje (Fishing and Fishing Complaints) surpass any other literary textes in the Croatian language of the 16th century. In the centre of The Tvrdalj, there is a tower above the fish-pond. This pond was constantly stocked with grey mullet. He kept chicken on the ground floor enjoying the natural way of life. Lucija, the Tertiary Franciscan nun, daughter of one of his builders, lived on the first floor taking care of his household. An observation post ("repèar") and a dove cote were at the top of the tower. He conceived the whole complex as a kind of model universe, with fish living in sea water, human beings walking on the ground and God's creatures high in the air, and devoted his tower-house to the Creator (OMNIVM CONDITORI) - as is writ ten in one of many inscriptions he put there. Petar Hektoroviæ was obsessed by the ephemerally of time. Time is symbolised in the years he lacks to complete his work, the ivy and reed which plait ed themselves round the ancient town and are still visible in the mosaic boxes next to The Tvrdalj it self, as well as in the streets leading to nearby churches, and to Gothic and Renaissance summer houses belonging to other noble men of Hvar (the remnants of Hanibal Luciæ's house are nearby). The famous 16th century is land laudatory writer, Vinko Pribojeviæ, similarly described the ruins of many big buildings, chipped statues of heroes made of Parma stone, and stone floors with figures of various animals and stars.
The Tvrdalj brings together two types of architectural artefacts - the chateau and the summer house - in the specific solution of a fortified Renaissance villa. It also has another specific purpose de scribed in the stone inscriptions: PRO ITINERANTIBUS and PRO PAUPERIBUS (For Travellers and For the Poor). Petar Hektoroviæ's Tvrdalj was full of inscriptions (in Latin, Croatian and one in Italian) mostly of high moral character as was Renaissance habit and also of the new Counter-reformation age, which does not differentiate completely between the sacred and the profane.
Supetar | Supetar is economic, cultural and tourist centre of the island of Brac. The Municipality of Supetar includes the town Supetar and three places Splitska, Skrip and Mirca. Good connections of Supetar with the world, the beautiful nature and rich tourist offer are the reason why this typical Mediterranean town as one of the most important tourist destinations on the Adriatic. Today tourism is the main economic line in Supetar. Besides the tourism the traditional fishing and maritime affairs are part of tradition of its inhabitants with cattle breeding and agriculture having great significance. The surroundings of Supetar is famous for the production of olive oil, wine, figs, mandarins, kiwi and other fruit. The sheep breeding and production of cheese are famous. Good and various pastures / various Mediterranean plants and perfumed herbs, sea and mountain air, are he reason why the kiddie and lambs are of such a good quality and present the superb delicate bit at every rich banquet.
Supetar is Brac's centre. One should speak about two Supetars. About the that was set in the picturesque peninsula of the present cemetery in the times of the Romans until Early Christian times. Then it slept trough some centuries, and then started Modern Times in Glavica, Vrdolac, Varos. From these points it descended in circles towards the sea, to set around the ancient chapel of St. Peter (in portu sancti Petri), and the little bay witch was, in these times of transitions, the port of Nerezisca, the Brac capital for eight centuries. Supetar became its capital at the beginning of the 19th century thanks to its very rapid development and to the best possible site it had chosen. The further development was supported by the inventive setting of the baroque buildings, from the 18th century nearer to the landlords, witch were all dominated by the monumental church set on a gentle elevation at the foot of the bay. These were the buildings formed out of the dressed stone in witch baroque is felt in the profiled doors, round the windows, in the small picturesque mansard roofs that seek for room high in the loft. Besides the porches, there are also balconies that rest on the decorative girdle. The more comfortable mode of life slowly displaces the kitchen as the central room and creates living-rooms with period furniture, baroque lamps and many paintings on the walls. These are the elements of style a particular period drawn into the old local atmosphere with a lot of good taste. The sunny little town was growing up, in whose tiny narrow lanes the play of light and shade was making a lasting colourful impression. This was Supetar from the end of the 18th century in the following years ready to become and remain the new capital of Brac.
SV Filip I Jakov | Halfway down the Adriatic coast, in the Pasman channel and long the highway between Zadar and Sibenik, there are 15 km of the attractive shoreline, stretching along the quiet and clear bays and an archipelago of islets. Babac, the largest island, is particularly interesting for trips.You can reach tourist resorts of Sv. Filip i Jakov, Turanj and Sv. Petar easily and quickly by bus, by a railway line to Zadar or a daily connection Rijeka - Zadar, as well as several times a week by Ancona - Zadar liners. There is also a possibility of arriving by plane to Zadar airport, about 25 km outside the town. This is the pearl of the riviera, an attractive tourist of traditionally hospitable host. The settlement, named Pristan until the 16th century, has developed around the medieval church dedicated to apostles St.
Filip and Jakov. Northeast of the place there is a field with St. Roko church, a remnant of a once wealthy Benedictine abbey from the 11th century. St. Filip and Jakov is not merely the sun, clear sea, exquisite beaches or centennial pine forests, because, beside the natural beauty, there are high quality tourist premises and hotels, sport and recreational facilities and entertainment programs, as well as the rich cultural heritage.
Trogir | Trogir is a town that no one fond of cultural and historical monuments and works of art should miss. It is an ancient Croatian medieval town of immeasurable beauty that from the point of view of architecture represents a true jewel of the Venetian Gothic style and town planning for which it is often referred to as "little Venice". The history of Trogir however is much older than the period of the Venetian Republic and reaches as far as the 3rd c. B.C. when at the site of present-day Trogir the Greeks founded the town of Tragurion.
The unique works of art, beauty, rich history and the charm of its town nucleus on the island will leave no visitor indifferent. The twisting old stone-paved streets are the settings of classical music concerts and drama. Particularly charming in such setting are the folklore performances and the merry fish parties traditionally organized for the visitors during the summer. The surroundings of Trogir offer high standard accommodation and a rich gastronomic offer particularly of seafood specialties. One can enjoy an active vacation
Trogir (Tragurion) was settled by the Greeks in IV-III century BC during theirs hunts across Mediterranean.
In the First century AC, Trogir became Roman municipality "Tragurium Civium Romanorum" joined to Salona, centre of Roman province of Dalmatia. Upon the fall of the Roman Empire in Fifth century, Trogir has been developed as a independent town.
In the Sixth century, the Croats settled in Trogir area and began creating works of art. Right from the beginning of the Middle Ages the old Greek town of Tragurion felt the fire of the new medieval culture. Builders and masons built churches and decorated it with interlaced ornamentation. During the Tenth century citizens of Trogir renewed they old municipal life of the formal Roman "oppidum". In their struggle against the Venetians, the kings of Hungary got Trogir to their side in return for a guarantee of Independence. Its citizens could freely elect their city leaders and, already in the Eleventh century, the small community crowded on the fortified islet, had its own Bishop who was suffrage of the At the beginning of the 13th century, while they were still recovering from the raids of the Venetians, who had attacked them in 12th century during their war with Hungary for the attractive Dalmatian coast, Trogir citizens under Rector Ilija from the Kacic family built their new cathedral. Forty years later, RADOVAN carved its main portal in Seget stone.
Prospect of Trogir was brutally interrupted 1420. when town was occupied by Venetians after long struggle, and it was badly devastated. Occupation lasted for almost four centuries, until 1797. During that time, Trogir was rebuild again and many new palaces, houses, towers and fortresses were erected. After short period of independence, Trogir had fallen under Napoleon's domination which was remembered by significant communal and health - care reforms, and modernization of economy. Austrians conquered town one more time (1814 - 1914) when citizens suffered illness, epidemics and hunger. After 1848, process of democratization started, and very shortly, 1877, Croats were rulers in their town. After First World War, Trogir, together with Croatia, became a part of State of South Slovenes, but agony of hunger and indigence wasn't finished.
Real improvement of standard and the way of life started in 1970-ies when Ship industry and tourism were employing more then 50% of Trogir citizens. Further development was interrupted by aggression on Croatia 1991, when people of Trogir and its economy suffered serious consequences. Ongoing integration processes in European Community started with UNESCO's acknowledgement of Trogir as a World cultural Heritage in 1997. Now, on the beginning of the new Millennia, Trogir becomes popular tourist destination as it was in '80-ies.
In Trogir, by the south town thick walls already more than nine centuries continue the monk life in the convent of St. Nikola (formerly the St. Dujma). About the foundation this female benedictian convent would be preserved is the document from 1064. By the foundation of convent, how are reading in the this document, between the town inhabitants and noblemen which are on the names mainly the Croatians, present is and town bishop Ivan which give later is celebrating as the saint, the protector of Trogir. How to the monastery church St. Dujma placed on the alone coast drop in the sailors and have fished so and convent and church named name of St. Nikola the protector of mariners. Except the manual work of sister nurse and knowing the belletrist literature. Here let them take care and old scores with the of Trogir respectful compositions from which the oldest are dating from the XV. the centuries. Their scientific processing will bring the new cognitions about the history of Croatian music. The convent is the complex from the higher building, the town thick wall and tower this church, would be tied with the time to unique, the interwoven complex. His is ground plan of irregular form because of centennial building and reconstruction whose outline is determining towards south and curves of town wall, and towards the west direction main streets. The doorways, balconies, irregular ground plan completeness, architectonic volumes of different dimensions and spacious orientations above which is protruding belfry, is healing up the interweaving stylish characteristics are giving monastery yard exceptional picturesque . Between the works of art displayed in monastery collection well-known is the Greek relief with the joss Kairos. The naked young man, on the wings only are running preserved , as well as on the tracks tangent-balances in hand, are recognizing as the Kairos, the deity either only the demon of happy moment, which is with difficulty to seize. Kairos, always in the flight, is needing catch for the hair from there him wad above the forehead, but in the back of the head is bald, the deceived as the happy occasions. By this mythological-the religijske denotacije themes Kairos is possessing the second the connotations of aesthetic nature. The big Greek sculptor Lizip, which has become too old for work the bronze sculpture Kairos will know from literary source, is making efforts make new artistic ideal, new conception of movement. And on this Trogir relief (which is resonance either the copy disappeared Lizip's work) modulation of shadows, gurgitation musculatures, mental face, transferring be widowed would be achieved is the artistic ideal this time: the harmony no alone proportions already and coordinations of movement. The relief are dating in IV. century either to the start III. centuries before and are considering the part some Athenian workshop. How is the Kairos would be found on the attic house formerly in the ownership family let alone, which has given down the notables-diplomat, artist, connected with Hungarian-Croatian court, globe-trotters maybe some from the member this gender has acquired this relief somewhere in the world, very likely in the alone Greece
Cathedral of St. Lawrence;
In the position where give formerly probable finding the Greek temple, rise the cathedrals of St. Lovro or the St. Ivan (the blessed Ivan Trogirski), how is the nation already is calling. Her building is beginning around 1200. the annual ring.; the south portal would be consummated is 1213. the annual ring. ; 1240. sign the master would be made happy on the west portal the centre XIII. the centuries already have been consummated her walls. Central is the boat would be arched the course first the half XV. the centuries. The belfry give put up end of the XVI. the centuries the inscription with the gilt letters within with the relief is taking notes: "In no way before 1590." the Still cathedral give relative fast is building, and that thanks to the plentiful help Hungarian - Croatian kings. Already 1242. the annual ring. in the cathedral is would be buried the Vilim. With the north strange cathedrals we are adding the special volumes fonts 1467), the orchestras St. Jerolima 1438), the orchestras bl. The Ivan 1468) and sakristije 1446-500). The cathedral give doima her own stereometrijskom the purity of stone masses, with the hierarchy of main boat what we lift up above boènima. The administration sculptural plastic would be finished is east wing with three the apses. In the experience completeness is intruding the impression abundances are petrifying the masses. The wall mantle would be divided with pilasters between which are the narrow windows, and on their peak are the garlands with rhythmic threaded suspension arch. Under terrace of south boat are protruding stone sinkholes in shape of animal and human head has sculptured them around 1417. annual ring. The Petar Pozdanèiæ. The lateral boats original have been without the roofs have ended the straight terrace, what has had to still more emphasize the central volume of main boat. Towards the original outline need have been built two the belfry. South frontal would be stressed is the accommodation of belfry on the south-west corner above the hall and south portal under which is flowing the semicircular row step. On the south portal by the opening in the shape of the flower-is crossing would be carved into is the Latin inscription which in the translation voice of the: "This work would be done after the birth of Virgin thousand two hundred and thirteenth to the time bishop Treguana, the Tuscan gender, from the devout family and town Duke Ilijas." the Cathedrals is the monument of whole town, all inhabitant which are assist her buildings. Are knowing to the details towards the official paper of Pavao Andre "Transfer of St. Ivan, Trogir bishop" how are all layers, and poorest fishermen and farmers from the neighbourhood in heavy wartimes, detach means for building and adorning orchestra his own celestial lawyer.
Church of St. Barbara;
From the main streets, by lodge are entering to the oldest preserved church, to the those St. Barbara (sv.Martina). The pillar before the church is carrying the doorway which is catching the main street. The church is the small basilica separated with colonnades. In the mid, above the traveja before the altar be situated across the original dome constructions inside the belfry. Above ingoing is the doors threshold would be adorned early medieval lotuses and bird figures on him is the Latin inscription which in the translation voice of the: "In the name of Lord's I, the Majo prior, together with the cousin my Petar decide for the salvation our this temple have built". Within would be found is the inscription which is the component had petrified altar are rebuilding and is mentioning the renovator of church of Petar and his woman Dobrica. The church formerly has been the adorned with frescos, preserved in the insignificant tracks. On the inscriptions and on the thatched lotuses on the gates and animal figures are giving deduce that is the church radical would be restored in the XI. the century. But am worship the St. Martin which give in the Dalmatia is expanding in VI. century, in the age of the emperor Justinijana, then higher fragments with the crosses (the bases of altar is for example the fragment of antique architecture with the carved crucifix), this alone pillar and part of capital of antique origin are directing on the conclusion that before the current churches has existed one the earlier like dimensions and forms dedicated same saint.
Museum of the City of Trogir;
The museum of town of Trogir would be placed in this context the higher palace the centuries and houses what are from the XVIII in the ownership Family Garagnin, the origin from the Venice. How give this family in the XIX. the century become related by marriage with the respectable family Fanfogna from the Zadar (the origin from the Bosna) from which have been otherwise traditional choose the commanding officer of Croatian cavalryman in the Venetian army, so give on them and palace is calling the Garagnin Fanfogna. From the family Garagnin special have known in the XVIII. the century Ivan (Gian Luca) Garagnin, the Split archbishop, are accepting the Croatia, and in the beginning the XIX. the centuries his the nephews Ivan Luka, the first Dalmatian conservator, is healing up the Dominik which is in the Dubrovnik, during the French, as the prominent Francophile, the regent of new power.
On the land is their washable in which are breed the rare plants and build in the antique inscriptions the buildings them has designed the known Venetian architect from the time of classicism Giannantonio Selva.
On the palace Garagnin - Fanfogna are catching sight of the manner track from the Latin there here. Central is the object consistent edifice would be built in the XVIII. the century. In the museum let him be situated and rich library this family with the work from the all region of human knowledge, special from agrikulture because the Ivan Luka Garagnin 1764-1841) has made efforts improve the economy in the Dalmatia. In the library is would be found and well-known official paper so called Today the Pacta Conventa or the Qualiter is taking care in the Budimpeti) which is speaking about the alleged contract of Croatian nobility with the Hungarian ruler. In the museum are would be displayed the miscellaneous documents and antique which are illustrating the flows of of Trogir histories.
By the yard of museum, in the previous economic building, would be displayed are the pictures of contemporary woman painters, Cate Dujin-Ribar. In the ground floor of same building would be preserved are the archaeological finds. In this room would be placed is collection of stone monuments which is presenting the history of Trogir stone - cutting. Between stayed would be displayed are and sculptures of the most significant persons from the history of renaissance sculpturing in the Dalmatia, the Nikolas Florentine and Ivan Duknoviæa.
Vodice | a town and harbour in northern Dalmatia, 11 km northwest of Sibenik; population 5100 main occupations are farming, fishing and tourism. The town is situated on the main road (M2, E65). Vodice Marina lies in the north-eastern part of Vodice (the Vrulje cove).
Of the 16th century walls collapsed in the 19th century only the three storey tower, so-called Caric's Tower, has been preserved. The parish church with richly adorned Baroque front was built in 1749 by Ivan Skoko, an architect from Sibenik; the Baroque belfry was erected by master Vicko Macanovic in the 18th century. The painting of the Holy Family on the main altar is a work by an anonymous master from the 17th till the 18th century.The remains of a building from the Turkish period are at the entrance into the town. The small church of the Holy Cross (the former parish church), built in 1662 by Vicko Ivanov from Korcula, is situated on the graveyard to the west of the town.
Nice beaches, peaceful coves and aromatic vegetation facilitate the development of organized tourism in Vodice, which emerged in the 1960s. The inhabitants of Vodice pay special attention to nature and environmental protection.
The traditional feast of Vodice takes place in August, and the Day of Our Lady of Mount Carmel (16th of July) represents a special event. Vodice hosts the Croatian Festival of Local Radio Stations (beginning of June). The galleries "Bast" and "Strikoman" add to the cultural offer of the town in the summer. Organized excursions are offered. Vodice ACI Marina has 450 berths in the sea and 150 places on the land.
Back to the top